ArtsAlive.ca – The Secret Life of Costumes

Featured designers
By Michael Eagan

Susan Benson

image:Two sketches of Julia, The Wood Demon (1983)
Two sketches of Julia, The Wood Demon (1983)
Designed by Susan Benson / © Susan Benson

The costume archive at the NAC has a broad selection of designs by Susan Benson, another of Canada’s premier theatre artists. In the four decades since she came to this country from Britain in 1966, she has earned a reputation as our most poetic stage designer and a great colourist with a highly nuanced palette. Benson studied painting in England at the Wolverhampton College of Art, and her mother operated a theatre school, so she was sensitized at a young age to ideas of visual art and its role in the theatre. Her family later arrived in Montréal and then traveled by train to the west coast. She tells of how she was struck for the first time by the sheer vastness of the country.

Getting quickly established in Victoria, her mother continued teaching, eventually at the University of British Columbia, and Benson was drawn naturally into combining painting and stage designing. She worked with directors Malcolm Black and Joy Coghill on a number of productions at the Vancouver Playhouse and at the Krannert Centre at Simon Fraser University. In 1974, she began designing at the Stratford Festival, and it was at this point that she effectively relocated to the east and began her national career, which would eventually take on an international dimension. She continues to live in Stratford and is married to Canadian lighting designer, Michael Whitfield.

image:Helena, The Wood Demon (1983)
Helena, The Wood Demon (1983)
Designed by Susan Benson / © Susan Benson

Over this period, Susan Benson has designed innumerable productions at Stratford as well as for other leading Canadian producers, including many for the NAC. Her work in opera and ballet design at the Canadian Opera Company and the National Ballet of Canada led her to commissions for the San Francisco Opera and the New York City Opera and as far away as the National Ballet of Finland in Helsinki and the Opera Australia. Throughout this busy career in design Benson has developed a highly personal and romantic esthetic that pervades all of her work. Her style is rooted in painting, and each series of designs presents an ambience that is almost tangible - the result of careful colour control and killer craftsmanship. She mixes media but seems most at ease working in coloured inks and water colours (transparent, as opposed to Prévost’s opaque gouache). The colours and tones she uses are rendered in a sequence of washes and the effect is often atmospheric and moody.

The NAC archive houses Benson costume designs for Murrell’s Memoir (1978), Strindberg’s The Father (1978), John Hirsch’s A History of the American Film (1979), Chekhov’s The Wood Demon (1983) for director John Wood, Noel Coward’s Blithe Spirit (1983), Tom Stoppard’s Indian Ink (2002), and Doug Wright’s I Am My Own Wife (2006) among many others, but if Susan Benson has a signature piece, it has to be her designs for The Mikado. At Stratford she had begun a series of design projects with Brian McDonald, the renowned choreographer and director of musical theatre, notably their productions of Gilbert and Sullivan operettas. Her designs for The Gondoliers are remarkable as prototypical Venetian vignettes, but the costume designs for The Mikado, in their delicate muted drawings, seem to embody the Benson style, and the traditional kimono shapes lent themselves perfectly to her sensual wash drawings. The Mikado designs were first created for the Stratford production in 1990 where it enjoyed a huge success and was later recreated at the NAC and subsequently toured widely. The silks used in these costumes were dyed using the ombre process in which the dye is allowed to run and fade out over the length of the fabric before being fixed. It is a complicated technique, but one perfectly suited to executing Benson’s designs and translating her particular sensibility.

Whether it is her keenly observed Venetian imagery for The Gondoliers or her take on classical Japanese styles in The Mikado, Susan Benson’s stage designs are always permeated with her taste and judgement. Her “eye” is precise, restrained and just. She is altogether an outstanding theatre artist whose work and designs are generously represented in the costume archive of the NAC.

Artsvivants.ca – La vie secrète des costumes

Portraits de concepteurs
par Michael Eagan

Susan Benson

image:Deux dessins de Julia, The Wood Demon (1983)
Deux dessins de Julia, The Wood Demon (1983)
Conçu par Susan Benson / © Susan Benson

Les archives des costumes du CNA contiennent une vaste sélection des créations de Susan Benson, une autre artiste de théâtre qui compte parmi les plus en vue au Canada. Cette Britannique de naissance arrivée au pays en 1966 s’est imposée par l’incomparable poésie de ses conceptions scéniques, et par sa palette de couleurs merveilleusement étendue et nuancée. Mme Benson a étudié la peinture en Angleterre au Wolverhampton College of Art, et sa mère dirigeait une école de théâtre : elle a donc été sensibilisée dès son plus jeune âge aux rudiments des arts visuels et à leur fonction au théâtre. Plus tard, sa famille a débarqué à Montréal avant de se rendre en train sur la côte Ouest. Elle évoque encore le choc qu’elle ressentit alors en découvrant l’immensité de ce pays.

La famille Benson ne tarda pas à s’établir à Victoria, où sa mère continua d’enseigner – plus tard à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique – tandis qu’elle-même en vint tout naturellement à associer peinture et scénographie. Elle collabora avec les metteurs en scène Malcolm Black et Joy Coghill à un certain nombre de productions présentées à la Vancouver Playhouse et au Krannert Centre de l’Université Simon Fraser. En 1974, elle commença à œuvrer au Festival de Stratford, et c’est à ce moment précis qu’elle déménagea dans l’est du pays et amorça véritablement sa carrière nationale, laquelle allait prendre par la suite une envergure internationale. Elle vit toujours à Stratford et est mariée au concepteur d’éclairages canadien Michael Whitfield.

image:Helena, The Wood Demon (1983)
Helena, The Wood Demon (1983)
Conçu par Susan Benson / © Susan Benson

Au fil des ans, Susan Benson a collaboré à d’innombrables productions à Stratford ainsi qu’avec d’autres producteurs canadiens importants, y compris à maintes reprises avec le CNA. Ses conceptions pour l’opéra et le ballet, plus précisément à la Canadian Opera Company et au Ballet national du Canada lui ont attiré des commandes émanant du San Francisco Opera et du New York City Opera, et même d’aussi loin que du Ballet national de Finlande à Helsinki et de Opera Australia. Tout au long de cette carrière bien remplie en scénographie, Mme Benson a développé une esthétique éminemment personnelle et romantique qui pénètre toute son œuvre. Son style prend sa source dans la peinture, et chaque série de dessins présente une ambiance presque tangible – fruit d’une utilisation minutieuse de la couleur et d’un formidable coup de crayon. Elle mélange plusieurs techniques, mais ce sont les encres colorées et l’aquarelle (translucides, contrairement à l’opacité de la gouache chère à Prévost) qui semblent lui réussir le mieux. Les couleurs et les tons qu’elle utilise sont rendus par des lavis appliqués de façon séquentielle, et l’effet ainsi obtenu est souvent très évocateur, parfois teinté de mélancolie.

Les archives du CNA renterment des dessins de costumes de Susan Benson pour Memoir de John Murrell (1978), The Father de Strindberg (1978), A History of the American Film de John Hirsch (1979), The Wood Demon de Tchekhov mis en scène par John Wood (1983) for director John Wood, Blithe Spirit de Noel Coward (1983), Indian Ink de Tom Stoppard (2002), I Am My Own Wife de Doug Wright (2006) et beaucoup d’autres; mais s’il ne fallait retenir qu’une seule production parmi toutes celles qu’elle a marquées de son empreinte, il faudrait que ce soit The Mikado. À Stratford, elle avait amorcé une série de projets de scénographie en collaboration avec Brian McDonald, le célèbre chorégraphe et metteur en scène de théâtre musical, notamment pour des productions d’opérettes de Gilbert et Sullivan. Ses dessins pour The Gondoliers sont de remarquables exemples de vignettes vénitiennes, mais ses dessins de costumes pour The Mikado, par leurs traits délicats et leurs teintes sourdes, paraissent cristalliser le style de l’artiste, et les formes de kimonos traditionnels se prêtent idéalement à ses lavis sensuels. Ses costumes pour The Mikado furent initialement créés à Stratford en 1990, où la production obtint un immense succès – avant d’être reprise au CNA et de tourner abondamment par la suite. Les soies utilisées dans la confection de ces costumes furent teintes selon un procédé dit de teinture flammée, dans lequel on laisse la teinture couler le long du tissu pour produire une gradation d’intensité avant de la fixer. C’est une technique complexe, mais elle convient parfaitement à l’exécution des créations de Mme Benson, dont elle traduit fort bien la sensibilité particulière.

Que ce soit son imagerie vénitienne finement observée pour The Gondoliers ou sa vision de différents styles classiques japonais pour The Mikado, les dessins pour la scène de Susan Benson sont toujours imprégnés de son goût exquis et de son jugement sûr. Son « œil » est précis, circonspect et juste. Elle est, en somme, une formidable artiste de théâtre, dont les créations abondent à juste titre dans les archives des costumes du CNA.