Guided Listening #2: Minds on Mozart!

For this Guided Listening, you will need the following:

A copy of these teaching steps
Audio asset: Excerpt of Letter from Mozart by Michael Colgrass
Text asset: Letter from Mozart by Michael Colgrass
All assets are provided below.

I. First Impressions

  • Listen to the audio asset Letter from Mozart by Colgrass.
  • Ask students to notice the different things that happen musically, what images come to mind as they listen, and what the composer might be saying about the real world in this music.
  • Compare impressions. Do you think the composer is describing a world of darkness or light?

II. Compare and Contrast

  • Read the text asset about Colgrass and the composition aloud.
  • Pair-share, then discuss: Why do you think the composer wanted to use so many kinds of music all jumbled up together here?

III. Composer Strategy

Ask: How could we describe the strategy the composer used? Are the real-world references here as specific as our last examples? Add a description to your Strategies Chart. (Here the composer uses multiple musical schemas with a less specific, but nonetheless vivid effect. Expect responses to vary: perhaps we are invited to make our own interpretation of the interrupted bits of pseudo-Mozart, accordion music, polka bands, etc.)

Excerpt from Letter from Mozart by Michael Colgrass (0:02:06)

Excerpt from Letter from Mozart by Michael Colgrass - Play now

Warning: Audio file is larger than 6MbDownload (3Mb)

Mozart is the cheerful muse for this 1976 composition in which Colgrass celebrates the beauty and vitality of his own age. Listen for a variety of musical surprises in the excerpt (e.g., different styles, two independent musical ensembles playing at the same time, interruptions, and musical contrasts of all kinds.)

Letter from Mozart by Michael Colgrass
Colgrass (1932) was born in Chicago and now lives in Toronto. In this work Colgrass imagines that Mozart has written him a letter encouraging him to write some music to express the beauty of the age, instead of focussing on its misery as so many composers do. The theme is a Mozartian melody which is constantly interrupted in surprising ways – by the orchestra strings, an oompah band, and even an accordion, keeping us as listeners off balance. Two conductors are needed to conduct the piece, adding an element of the unexpected. The piece was first performed in 1976 in New York by the Musica Aeterna Orchestra with Frederic Waldman conducting.

Credits and Copyright

  • Audio Asset: An Excerpt from Letter from Mozart by Michael Colgrass
    1976, Michael Colgrass
Virtual Museum of Canada

To access the Virtual Museum of Canada's complete digital learning resources and lesson plans, visit the VMC Teachers' Centre.

Écoute guidée no 2 : À propos de Mozart!

Pour cette écoute guidée, vous aurez besoin des éléments suivants :

Un exemplaire des documents pédagogiques
Support audio : Un extrait de Letter from Mozart de Michael Colgrass
Support texte : Letter from Mozart de Michael Colgrass

Les extraits audio et l'information textuelle sont fournis après la section de l'écoute guidée.

I. Premières impressions

  • Écoutez le support audio Letter from Mozart de Colgrass.
  • Demandez aux élèves de noter les différentes choses qui se passent sur le plan musical, les images qui leur viennent à l'esprit lorsqu'ils écoutent la musique et ce que le compositeur cherche à exprimer dans sa musique au sujet du monde qui l'entoure.
  • Comparez les impressions. Pensez-vous que le compositeur décrit un monde sombre ou lumineux?

II. Comparaisons

  • Lisez à haute voix les supports texte sur Colgrass et sa composition.
  • Réfléchir-partager-discuter: Pourquoi pensez-vous que le compositeur a voulu mélanger ici tant de musiques différentes?

III. Stratégie du compositeur

  • Posez la question : Comment pourrions-nous décrire la stratégie utilisée par le compositeur? Les références à la réalité sont-elles aussi précises que dans nos derniers exemples? Ajoutez une description à votre tableau des strategies. (Ici, le compositeur utilise de multiples schémas musicaux avec un effet moins précis, mais néanmoins efficace. Attendez-vous à avoir des réponses variées : nous sommes peut-être invités à donner notre propre interprétation des passages interrompus de musique pseudo mozartienne, de musique d'accordéon, d'orchestres jouant des polkas, etc.)

Extrait de Letter from Mozart de Michael Colgrass (0:02:06)

Extrait de Letter from Mozart de Michael Colgrass - Jouer maintenant

Ce fichier audio dépasse les 6 MoTélécharger (3Mo)

Mozart est la muse joviale de cette composition de 1976 dans laquelle Michael Colgrass célèbre la beauté et le dynamisme de l’époque où il vit. Le présent extrait recèle de nombreuses surprises musicales (par ex., différents styles s’y côtoient, deux ensembles musicaux distincts y jouent simultanément, et la musique est ponctuée de brusques interruptions et de contrastes en tous genres).

Michael Colgrass, Letter from Mozart
Colgrass (1932) est né à Chicago et vit actuellement à Toronto. Dans cette œuvre, Colgrass imagine que Mozart lui a écrit une lettre pour l'inviter à composer une musique exprimant la beauté de son époque plutôt que de mettre l'accent sur ce qui va de travers, comme le font beaucoup de compositeurs. Le thème est une mélodie mozartienne qui est constamment interrompue de façon surprenante – par les cordes de l'orchestre, par un orchestre bavarois et même par un accordéon, déstabilisant ainsi les auditeurs. Il faut deux chefs d'orchestre pour diriger cette musique, ce qui rajoute encore à l'étrangeté de cette pièce. Cette composition fut exécutée pour la première fois en 1976 par le Musica Aeterna Orchestra à New York, sous la direction de Frederic Waldman.

Crédits et droit d'auteur

  • Support audio : Un extrait de Letter from Mozart de Michael Colgrass
    1976, Michael Colgrass
Musée virtuel du Canada

Pour accéder à l’ensemble des ressources pédagogiques numériques et des plans de leçons, veuillez consulter le Centre d'apprentissage en ligne du Musée virtuel du Canada.