This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Making Dance

The Choreographer's Toolbox

Form & Structure

Once the choreographer has conceived key movement phrases, he or she can combine, manipulate and organize them into longer sequences, paying attention to:

1. Form

The form of a dance determines the way it is organized. This is similar to the way musical forms like the suite, symphony or concerto shape their overall contour or identity.

Three basic dance forms are:

a) ABA

ABA form begins with an opening theme, leads into a contrasting theme that complements the first, and concludes with a return to the opening theme. This conclusion is recognizable but somehow changed in order to bring the piece to its resolution. There is a cyclic feel, a sense of continuity, order and inevitability.

 
 
Video credit:
Artemis Madrigals
Choreographed by Christopher House
Music: Igor Stravinsky, "Duo Concertant"; Lighting: Ron Snippe; Costumes: Lori Trez Endes; Premiere: October 28th, 1988, Humanities Theatre, University of Waterloo; Danced by Karen Duplisea, Ron Ladd, Laurence Lemieux, Michael Sean Marye and Coralee McLaren; Remount: February 26th, 2004, Premiere Dance Theatre, Harbourfront Centre,as part of Retro Vista, commemorating Christopher House's twenty-fifth anniversary season with Toronto Dance Theatre; Dancers: Johanna Bergfelt, Robin McPhail and William Yong.

b) Rondo

The rondo (ABACADA) is an expansion of ABA form. It uses a recurring theme (like a musical chorus or refrain) to which the choreographer returns, interspersed with contrasting themes, all building to a conclusion.

 

 

Video Credit:
Vena Cava

Toronto Dance Theatre, Choreographer: Christopher House
Choreographed in 1999, filmed in 2004
Dancers: Johanna Bergfelt, Valerie Calam, Brenda Little and Robin McPhail; Director/Producer: Christopher House/Toronto Dance Theatre; Music: "Open Veins" by Robert Moran; Costumes: Lori Trez Endes; Lighting: Roelof (Ron) Snippe; Camera: Don MacMillan

c) Theme and Variation

Theme and variation (A, A 1, A 2, etc.) is a form in which a basic movement theme is stated and then altered in various ways. To inject visual and dramatic variety, choreographers use devices similar to those in music composition (for example, inversion, retrograde and transposition).

 

A ballet solo is referred to as a variation when the choreographer selects and varies a movement theme to reflect the qualities of a particular character.

2. Structure

The structure of a dance is how the total work is put together. All elements combine to produce a whole work of art, with three main sections:

To convey the overall mood, atmosphere and message, the choreographer sequences movement sections in a variety of ways.

A) Beginning

Traditional 19th-century story ballets proceed in chronological order, following the classical dramatic structure used in plays. The opening introduces the main characters and sets the scene for the action to follow.

Some 20th-century works, like those by Martha Graham, do not follow a strict chronology, but use cinematic devices like the flashback to open the action. In plotless works, the opening may introduce the movement theme.

To open a work or a section of a work, the dancer or dancers may begin onstage, or they may enter from the wings, flies, traps or back of the stage.

b) Middle

This is where the choreographer develops his or her material, bridging the opening and closing sections. Characters, plot, mood and movement themes are explored and embellished.

c) End

In works with a storyline, the plot builds to a high point or climax and culminates in a satisfying conclusion where dramatic tensions are resolved. Or they may intentionally be left open.

To end, the dancer or dancers may remain onstage or they may exit through the wings, flies, traps or back of the stage.

To pace these sections, the choreographer may put the climax nearer the beginning, middle or end for dramatic effect. Pacing determines how long each section is and affects the rhythm of the whole piece.

Even abstract works with no storyline have a carefully crafted beginning, middle and end. To build to the movement climax of a plotless dance work, George Balanchine sometimes started by setting the end of the ballet. He then worked on earlier sections, logically introducing elements to culminate in a spectacular finish.

In contrast, choreographer Merce Cunningham uses chance methods to determine the order of parts in a work: the opening section becomes the one performed first rather than the one whose content introduces the work.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Comment naît la danse

La forme et la structure

Lorsque le chorégraphe a créé des enchaînements et un vocabulaire de base, il peut les conjuguer, les manipuler et les organiser pour faire des séquences plus longues, en prêtant attention aux objets suivants:

1. Forme

La forme d’une danse détermine l’organisation des enchaînements. Cela est semblable à la façon dont les formes musicales, comme la suite, la symphonie ou le concerto, dictent la structure générale ou l’identité d’une pièce.

Voici trois formes de bases:

A) ABA

La forme ABA commence avec un thème suivi d’un thème différent, complémentaire au premier, et elle conclut avec un retour au thème de départ. La conclusion est familière mais quelque peu changée de sorte que la pièce se résout. La forme ABA évoque le cycle, la continuité, l’ordre et l’inévitable.

 

Crédit du vidéoclip:
Artemis Madrigals, Chorégraphe: Christopher House
Musique : Igor Stravinsky, "Duo Concertant"; Éclairages : Ron Snippe; Costumes : Lori Trez Endes; Première: 28 october 1988, Humanities Theatre, University of Waterloo; Interprété par Karen Duplisea, Ron Ladd, Laurence Lemieux, Michael Sean Marye and Coralee McLaren; Remonté: 26 février 2004, Premiere Dance Theatre, Harbourfront Centre comme la partie de Retro Vista, commémorant la 25ième saison d'anniversaire de Christopher House avec le Toronto Dance Theatre; Interprètes : Johanna Bergfelt, Robin McPhail and William Yong.

B) Rondo

Le rondo (ABACADA…) est une extension de la forme ABA. Dans cette forme, le chorégraphe revient à un thème récurrent (comme le refrain musical), une ponctuation entre des thèmes différents. L’ensemble des thèmes mène à une conclusion.

 

Crédit du vidéoclip:
Vena Cava
Toronto Dance Theatre, chorégraphe : Christopher House
Création de la chorégraphie : 1999; Tournage : 2004; Interprètes : Johanna Bergfelt, Valerie Calam, Brenda Little and Robin McPhail; Production et réalisation : Christopher House et le Toronto Dance Theatre; Musique : Open Veins, de Robert Moran; Costumes : Lori Trez Endes; Éclairages : Roelof (Ron) Snippe; Cadrage : Don MacMillan

C) Thème et variation

Dans la forme thème et variation (A, A1, A2, etc.), un thème de mouvement est présenté et ensuite modifié de diverses façons. Pour produire une variété visuelle et dramatique, le chorégraphe fait appel à des méthodes semblables à celles de la composition musicale (par exemple, inversion, rétrogradation et transposition) pour transformer le thème de base.

 

En ballet classique, un solo est nommé variation lorsque le chorégraphe choisit et crée des variations sur un thème de mouvement pour refléter les qualités d’un personnage particulier.

 

2. Structure

La structure d’une danse se rapporte à l’enchaînement au grand complet. Tous les éléments convergent pour produire une œuvre d’art, qui compte trois grandes sections. 

Le chorégraphe choisit une séquence particulière des sections de mouvements pour créer une ambiance générale ou exprimer un message.

A) Début

Les ballets classiques narratifs du 19e siècle suivent un ordre chronologique, se conformant à la structure dramatique classique des pièces de théâtre. L’introduction présente les personnages principaux et prépare l’action à venir.

Quelques œuvres du 20e siècle, comme celles de Martha Graham, ne suivent pas une chronologie rigoureuse, mais font appel à des effets filmiques tels que le flash-back, pour ouvrir l’action. Dans des œuvres sans récit, le début présente parfois le thème.

Pour entamer une pièce ou une section d’une pièce, soit que l’interprète ou les interprètes commencent sur la scène, soit qu’ils entrent depuis les coulisses, les cintres, les trappes ou l’arrière-scène.

 

B) milieu

Pendant le milieu de la pièce, le chorégraphe développe le matériel et fait le lien entre le début et la fin. Personnages, intrigue, ambiance et thèmes de mouvement sont alors explorés et embellis.

 

C) Fin

Dans les œuvres narratives, l’intrigue mène à un point culminant et le dénouement entraîne une conclusion satisfaisante où les tensions dramatiques sont résolues. À l’occasion, la conclusion demeure expressément ouverte.

Pour conclure, soit l’interprète ou les interprètes demeurent sur scène, soit ils la quittent en sortant par les coulisses, les cintres, les trappes ou l’arrière-scène.

Pour donner un rythme aux sections, le chorégraphe choisit quelquefois de pousser le point culminant plus près du début, du milieu ou de la fin, selon l’effet dramatique qu’il veut produire. Le rythme détermine la longueur des sections et donne l’allure à l’ensemble de la pièce.

Même les œuvres abstraites sans récit se composent d’un début, d’un milieu et d’une fin, créés avec méthode et précision. Pour préparer le point culminant d’une pièce de danse abstraite, George Balanchine commençait parfois en créant la fin du ballet. Il travaillait ensuite les sections précédentes, introduisant des éléments de façon logique pour arriver à une culmination spectaculaire.

En comparaison, le chorégraphe Merce Cunningham se sert du hasard pour déterminer l’enchaînement des sections d’une pièce.