This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Making Dance

Dance for youth. Step up and check it out.

Cathy LevyIt's true. Future dancers and choreographers across the country are inspired, encouraged and supported by the National Arts Centre. As Canada's leading presenter and co-producer of dance, the NAC has a longstanding commitment to youth and educational activities, as well as to commissioning and staging the nation's finest talent.

Cathy Levy, Producer, NAC Dance

NAC Youth Commission for Dance, a partnership with the Canada Council for the Arts

As Canada's leading dance producer/presenter, the National Arts Centre places a high value on fostering a relationship between teenagers and contemporary dance. Engaging young people in this art form will not only help develop informed dance audiences for the future, it may also encourage young people to consider a career in the performing arts.

The NAC Youth Commission for Dance, a partnership with the Canada Council for the Arts, is an initiative aimed specifically at Canadian youth. The goals are to widen the existing Canadian dance repertoire for young audiences, underscore the National Arts Centre's commitment to national and community partnerships, and affirm dance for young audiences as part of an ongoing aesthetic education.

Get the inside scoop.

Interested to know how artists are chosen for this project?

 

Commissioned Works

Meet four Canadian choreographers who have been commissioned by the NAC to create new dance works for teenagers. Watch excerpts of the works, watch interviews, use accompanying study guides and visit company and choreographer websites to learn more.

29-year old Toronto choreographer and dancer Matjash Mrozewski was commissioned by the NAC to develop Break Open Play for the inaugural season (2003-2004) of the NAC-CGI Youth Commission for Dance, a partnership with the Canada Council for the Arts.

 

 

The Holy Body Tattoo, Artistic Directors Noam Gagnon and Dana Gingras, created monumental for the NAC-CGI Youth Commission for Dance, a partnership with the Canada Council for the Arts, which premiered in 2005.

 

Cas Public, Artistic Director Hélène Blackburn, created Diary / Journal Intime, which premiered for the NAC-CGI Youth Commission for Dance, a partnership with the Canada Council for the Arts, in 2006.

 

 

Choreographer Martin Bélanger, in collaboration with Montréal Danse, and Artistic Director Kathy Casy, created Somewhat like You, which premiered for the NAC Youth Commission for Dance, a partnership with the Canada Council for the Arts, in 2007.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Comment naît la danse

Danse jeunesse. Installez-vous et découvrez.

Cathy LevyOui, c’est vrai. Le Centre national des Arts inspire, encourage et appuie les interprètes et chorégraphes en devenir d’une frontière à l’autre du pays. En tant que chef de fil en production et en diffusion de la danse au Canada, le CNA tient un engagement de longue date envers les jeunes et les activités éducatives, ainsi que les commandes et la présentation des plus grands talents de la nation.

Cathy Levy, productrice, programmation de la Danse, CNA

Les Commandes de danse jeunesse CNA-CGI en partenariat avec le Conseil des Arts du Canada

En tant que chef de fil en production et en diffusion de la danse au Canada, le Centre national des Arts accorde beaucoup d’importance au développement d'une relation entre les adolescents et la danse contemporaine. Engager les jeunes dans la forme d’art aidera non seulement à former un public averti pour l'avenir, mais encouragera peut-être les jeunes à envisager une carrière dans les arts de la scène.

Les Commandes de danse jeunesse CNA-CGI en partenariat avec le Conseil des Arts du Canada est une initiative axée précisément sur les jeunes canadiens et canadiennes. Les buts sont d'accroître le répertoire canadien de danses jeunesses, de souligner l'engagement du Centre national Arts envers les partenariats nationaux et communautaires, et d'asseoir la danse pour jeune public dans un enseignement esthétique suivi.

Rentrez dans le scoop.

Comment les artistes sont-ils choisis pour le projet?

Commandes

Rencontrez quatre chorégraphes canadiens qui ont reçu des commandes du CNA pour créer de nouvelles pièces de danse pour les adolescents :

Le chorégraphe et interprète de 29 ans Matjash Mrozewski a reçu une commande du CNA pour créer Break Open Play pour la saison inaugurale (2003-2004) des Commandes de danse jeunesse CNA-CGI en partenariat avec le Conseil des Arts du Canada

 

 

Les directeurs artistiques de The Holy Body Tattoo, Noam Gagnon et Dana Gingras, ont créé la pièce monumental pour les Commandes de danse jeunesse CNA-CGI en partenariat avec le Conseil des Arts du Canada, présentée en première en 2005.

 

 

Hélène Blackburn, directrice artistique de Cas Public, a créé Diary / Journal Intime, présentée en première pour les Commandes de danse jeunesse CNA-CGI en partenariat avec le Conseil des Arts du Canada en 2006.

 

 

Le chorégraphe Martin Bélanger a signé, en collaboration avec Montréal Danse et sa directrice artistique Kathy Casy, la pièce Un peu comme toi, créée en 2007 pour la Commande de danse jeunesse du CNA, une initiative menée en partenariat avec le Conseil des Arts du Canada.