This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Danny Grossman

politicized choreography / Danny Grossman Dance Company

(1942- )

Danny Grossman's creative longevity is matched only by his commitment to creating socially aware and politically engaged choreography. Born in San Francisco, Grossman, joined the Paul Taylor Dance Company in 1963. Ten years later, he moved to Toronto where he taught at York University and was a guest artist with Toronto Dance Theatre.

Grossman received critical acclaim for Higher (1975), an early choreographic work featuring a ladder, two stacking chairs and two performers moving to the music of Ray Charles. Grossman founded the Danny Grossman Dance Company that same year. His company began to tour in the late 1970s and often performs in the public school system throughout Ontario.

Underpinning Grossman's work is his fierce belief in the use of the arts as an agent for social justice. Endangered Species (1981) was a strong anti-war statement. Nobody's Business (1981) challenged stereotypical gender roles. Rat Race (1993) explored the alienation and power struggles of a society depleted of values and dignity. Age of Darkness (2003) depicted contemporary fears, from weapons of mass destruction to the growing divide between the rich and poor.

Grossman has created and restaged his work for a wide variety of companies, including the Paris Opera Ballet, the National Ballet of Canada and Canadian Children's Dance Theatre. He is also committed to preserving and remounting important historical choreographic works in order to educate audiences and ensure that contemporary dance heritage is not lost. The recipient of many awards, Grossman received the William Kilbourn Lifetime Achievement Award from the Toronto Arts Awards in 1998.

Websites:

Danny Grossman Dance Company

Learn more:

Roseman, Janet Lynn. Dance Masters: Interviews with Legends of Dance. New York: Routledge, 2001.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Danny Grossman

chorégraphie engagée / Danny Grossman Dance Company

(1942- )

La longévité créative de Danny Grossman n'a d'égal que sa détermination à créer des œuvres chorégraphiques politiquement engagées et véhiculant un message social. Né à San Francisco, Danny Grossman est entré à la Paul Taylor Dance Company en 1963. Dix ans plus tard, il s'est installé à Toronto, où il a enseigné à l'Université York et s'est produit comme artiste invité avec le Toronto Dance Theatre.

Higher (1975), l'une de ses premières chorégraphies, a été accueillie avec enthousiasme par la critique. Dans un décor dépouillé où les seuls accessoires sont une échelle et deux chaises empilées, deux interprètes dansent sur la musique de Ray Charles. La même année, le chorégraphe a fondé la Danny Grossman Dance Company avec laquelle il est parti en tournée à la fin des années 1970. Ses œuvres ont souvent été présentées dans le réseau des écoles publiques de l'Ontario.

Danny Grossman est fermement convaincu que l'art est utile en tant que moteur de la justice sociale et cette idée constitue le fil conducteur de son œuvre. Dans Endangered Species (1981), il exprime sa haine de la guerre, tandis qu'il s'attaque aux stéréotypes hommes-femmes dans Nobody's Business (1981). Rat Race (1993) explore l'aliénation et les luttes de pouvoir d'une société qui a perdu ses repères et sa dignité. Age of Darkness (2003) met en scène les hantises de notre époque, depuis les armes de destruction massive jusqu'à l'écart croissant entre les riches et les pauvres.

Le chorégraphe a créé des œuvres inédites ou repris ses pièces antérieures pour une large variété de compagnies, y compris le Ballet de l'Opéra de Paris, le Ballet national du Canada et le Canadian Children's Dance Theatre. Il travaille également à la préservation et à la reconstitution des anciennes chorégraphies marquantes, de façon à éduquer le public et assurer la sauvegarde du patrimoine de la danse contemporaine. Danny Grossman, qui a reçu de nombreuses distinctions, s'est vu décerné le Prix William Kilbourn pour l'ensemble de son œuvre dans le cadre des Toronto Arts Awards en 1998.

Sites Web :

Danny Grossman Dance Company

Pour en savoir plus :

Roseman, Janet Lynn, Dance Masters: Interviews with Legends of Dance, New-York, Routledge, 2001.