This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Jay Hirabayashi

EDAM / Kokoro Dance / butoh

(1947- )

Jay Hirabayashi, who was born in the United States, did not begin to dance until he was an adult and needed to strengthen one of his knees after an injury resulting from competitive downhill skiing. In 1978, he joined the Paula Ross Dance Company. Later, he was a member of Mountain Dance Theatre and the Karen Jamieson Dance Company.

In 1982, he became a co-founder of the Vancouver-based creative collective EDAM (Experimental Dance and Music) with Peter Bingham, Barbara Bourget, Lola MacLaughlin, Jennifer Mascall, Peter Ryan and musician Ahmed Hassan. He left EDAM four years later when he and his wife, Bourget, established their own company, Kokoro Dance.

Hirabayashi's choreographic style reflects his interdisciplinary dance training, particularly his deep affinity for Japanese butoh dance. Hirabayashi attended his first butoh performance in 1980 and began to study the expressionist form six years later. One of his early works, Rage (1987), featuring fourteen taiko drummers, three dancers, a martial artist and a stilt walker, was a critical success at the 1987 Asia Pacific Festival as well as at that year's Canada Dance Festival. Rage has been revised numerous times and in 1992 was restaged as The Believer. In 1995, he received a grant from the Canada Council for the Arts to travel to Japan to study with Kazou Ohno, one of butoh's earliest practitioners. In addition to this grant, he was also one of the recipients of the Jacqueline Lemieux Award.

As a teacher, Hirabayashi has a created a hybrid style of modern dance and butoh techniques. As an administrator, he has served on the board of The Dance Centre in Vancouver and is the executive director of the Vancouver International Dance Festival, which began in 1998 as the Vancouver Butoh Festival. In addition to educating audiences about the butoh aesthetic, the Festival is an important promoter of local contemporary dance artists as well as presenting contemporary and culturally diverse dance artists from around the world.

Hirabayashi is not only a dancer, choreographer and administrator, however. He is also a dance writer. Several of his dance reviews have been published in Dance Connection magazine and for a number of years Kokoro Dance published Kokoro Moon, a newsletter that included reviews that engendered debate in the Vancouver dance community because of their candid responses to local choreography.

Websites:

Kokoro Dance

Learn more:

Pepper, Kaija. “Reviews, International.” Dance Magazine (March 2001): 79-81.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Jay Hirabayashi

EDAM / Kokoro Dance / butô

(1947- )

Né aux États-Unis, Jay Hirabayashi n'a commencé la danse qu'à l'âge adulte parce qu'il s'était blessé dans une compétition de ski alpin et devait renforcer son genou. En 1978, il s'est joint à la Paula Ross Dance Company avant de se produire avec le Mountain Dance Theatre et la Karen Jamieson Dance Company.

En 1982, il a fondé à Vancouver, avec Peter Bingham, Barbara Bourget, Lola MacLaughlin, Jennifer Mascall, Peter Ryan et le musicien Ahmed Hassan, le collectif de création EDAM (Experimental Dance and Music). Il a quitté le groupe quatre ans plus tard pour fonder avec son épouse Barbara Bourget leur propre compagnie, Kokoro Dance.

Le style chorégraphique de Jay Hirabayashi reflète sa formation interdisciplinaire en danse, en particulier sa profonde affinité avec la danse butô du Japon. Ayant assisté à son premier spectacle de butô en 1980, il a commencé à étudier cette forme d'art expressionniste six ans plus tard. L'une de ses premières œuvres, Rage (1987), mettant en scène quatorze tambours taiko, trois danseurs, un artiste formé aux arts martiaux et un personnage monté sur des échasses, a été salué par la critique au Festival de l'Asie‑Pacifique (19087) ainsi qu'au Festival Danse Canada la même année. Rage a été remaniée à plusieurs reprises et, en 1992, l'œuvre a été remontée sous le titre The Believer. En 1995, M. Hirabayashi a reçu une subvention du Conseil des Arts du Canada afin de se rendre au Japon pour y étudier auprès de Kazuo Ohno, l'un des plus anciens maîtres du butô. Il a par ailleurs été lauréat du Prix Jacqueline-Lemieux.

En tant que professeur, Jay Hirabayashi a créé un style hybride issu de la danse moderne et des techniques du butô. En sa qualité d'administrateur, il a fait partie du conseil d'administration du Dance Centre de Vancouver et il est le directeur exécutif du Festival international de danse de Vancouver, lancé en 1998 sous le nom de Festival Butô de Vancouver. En plus de faire connaître à son public l'esthétique du butô, le Festival est un important promoteur des artistes de la danse contemporaine et produit sur scène des interprètes contemporains issus de diverses cultures, venus de tous les coins du monde.

Outre ses activités de danseur, chorégraphe et administrateur, il écrit également sur la danse. Plusieurs de ses articles ont été publiés dans la revue Dance Connection et, pendant plusieurs années, Kokoro Dance a fait paraître Kokoro Moon, un bulletin qui regroupait des articles exprimant un point de vue profane sur la chorégraphie locale, qui a suscité de beaux débats dans le milieu de la danse vancouvérois.

Sites Web :

Kokoro Dance (anglais seulement)

Pour en savoir plus :

Pepper, Kaija, « Reviews, International », Dance Magazine (mars 2001) ; p. 79 à 81.