This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Christopher House

choreography / Toronto Dance Theatre

(1955- )

Christopher House is one of Canada's leading modern dance choreographers. Originally from St. John's, Newfoundland, House studied political science and philosophy at university before turning to the performing arts. He joined Toronto Dance Theatre as a dancer in 1978, became the company's resident choreographer in 1981 and was appointed artistic director in 1994.

As a choreographer, House began to receive acclaim in the early 1980s with works such as Glass Houses (1983). His choreography is marked by musicality and technical precision. In 2000, he began to create full-length multimedia productions, including Nest and Severe Clear (2000), Persephone's Lunch (2001), Sly Verb (2004) and Echo's Object (2005).

House's work is in the repertoires of modern and ballet companies as well as independent dance artists. He has received many awards including, the Jean A. Chalmers Award for Choreography in 1983 and a Toronto International Festival Music/Dance Award in 1992.

Websites:

Toronto Dance Theatre

Learn more:

Mason, Francis. A Conversation with Christopher House. Canadian Dance: Visions and Stories. Eds. Selma Landen Odom and Mary Jane Warner. Toronto: Dance Collection Danse Press/es, 2004: 365-376.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Cette vidéo est seulement disponible en anglais.
Lisez la transcription de l'entrevue.

Biographie

Christopher House

chorégraphie / Toronto Dance Theatre

(1955- )

Christopher House est l'un des chorégraphes de danse moderne les plus en vue au Canada. Originaire de St. John's (Terre-Neuve), il a étudié les sciences politiques et la philosophie à l'université avant de bifurquer vers les arts de la scène. Il s'est joint au Toronto Dance Theatre comme danseur en 1978 et en est devenu le chorégraphe résident en 1981, avant d'être nommé directeur artistique de la compagnie en 1994.

M. House s'est fait connaître en tant que chorégraphe au début des années 1980 avec des œuvres comme Glass Houses (1983). La musicalité et la précision technique sont les traits dominants de son art chorégraphique. Depuis 2000, il crée régulièrement des pièces intégrales multimédias : Nest et Severe Clear (2000), Persephone's Lunch (2001), Sly Verb (2004) et Echo's Object (2005).

Les œuvres de Christopher House figurent au répertoire de plusieurs compagnies de danse moderne et de ballet, et de danseurs indépendants. Lauréat de nombreux prix, il a notamment remporté le prix Jean A. Chalmers pour la chorégraphie en 1983 et un prix Music/Dance du Toronto International Festival en 1992.

Sites Web :

Toronto Dance Theatre

Pour en savoir plus :

Mason, Francis, « A Conversation with Christopher House » Canadian Dance: Visions and Stories, publication dirigée par Selma Landen Odom et Mary Jane Warner, Toronto, Dance Collection Danse Press/es, 2004, p. 365-376.