This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Karen Kain

National Ballet of Canada / Chair of the Canada Council for the Arts

(1951- )

Karen Kain's name is synonymous with ballet in Canada. Born in Hamilton, Ontario, Kain trained at the National Ballet School in Toronto before joining the ranks of the National Ballet of Canada in 1969. A mere two years later, she was promoted to the status of principal dancer.

In 1973, Kain won a silver medal at the International Ballet Competition in Moscow for her solo work. She and her main dance partner, Frank Augustyn, were awarded a gold medal in the pas de deux category. In 1977, Kain and Augustyn were invited to Moscow to star with the Bolshoi Ballet in a production of Giselle. Throughout the 1970s and 1980s, Kain was in demand as a guest artist with ballet companies around the world, including the Bolshoi Ballet, the London Festival Ballet and the Paris Opera Ballet.

During the 1996/1997 season, the National Ballet of Canada staged a national farewell tour for Kain. After retiring from her position as a principal dancer with the National Ballet of Canada in 1998, Kain became the company's artist-in-residence. In 1999, she became the company's artistic associate. In 2004, Kain restaged Rudolf Nureyev's The Sleeping Beauty. That same year, the Canada Council for the Arts appointed her chair of the board.

In recognition of her impressive accomplishments, Kain has received numerous awards and accolades. She is the subject of the documentary Karen Kain: Dancing in the Moment, written and produced by former National Ballet of Canada principal dancer, Veronica Tennant. In 2001, the French government selected her as an Officer of the Order of Arts and Letters. Kain is a Companion of the Order of Canada. In 2002, she was awarded a Governor General's Performing Arts Award.

Kain was appointed artistic director of the National Ballet of Canada in 2005.

Websites:

National Ballet of Canada

Learn more:

Kain, Karen, with Stephen Godfrey and Penelope Reed Doob. Karen Kain: Movement Never Lies, An Autobiography. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1994.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Cette vidéo est seulement disponible en anglais.
Lisez la transcription de l'entrevue.

Biographie

Karen Kain

Ballet national du Canada / présidente du Conseil des Arts du Canada

(1951- )

Le nom de Karen Kain est synonyme de ballet au Canada. Née à Hamilton (Ontario), elle a été formée à l'École nationale de ballet à Toronto avant d'intégrer le Ballet national du Canada en 1969. Deux ans plus tard, elle était déjà promue au rang de première danseuse.

En 1973, Mme Kain a remporté la médaille d'argent pour le solo qu'elle avait présenté au Concours international de ballet de Moscou, et la médaille d'or avec son principal partenaire de danse, Frank Augustyn, dans la catégorie « pas de deux ». En 1977, Mme Kain et M. Augustyn ont été invités à Moscou pour interpréter les premiers rôles dans une production de Giselle par le Ballet Bolchoï. Tout au long des années 1970 et 1980, Mme Kain a été régulièrement invitée à se produire avec les plus prestigieuses compagnies de ballet partout dans le monde, pour ne mentionner que le Ballet Bolchoï, le London Festival Ballet et le Ballet de l'Opéra de Paris.

Au cours de la saison 1996/1997, le Ballet national du Canada a organisé une tournée nationale d'adieu pour Karen Kain. Après avoir quitté son poste de première danseuse du Ballet national du Canada en 1998, elle est devenue artiste résidente de la compagnie, puis adjointe artistique en 1999. En 2004, elle a monté en reprise la Belle au bois dormant de Rudolf Noureïev. La même année, elle a été nommée présidente du Conseil des Arts du Canada.

Les remarquables réalisations artistiques de Karen Kain lui ont attiré de nombreux prix et des éloges innombrables. Elle fait l'objet du documentaire Karen Kain: Dancing in the Moment, conçu, réalisé et produit par une autre ancienne première danseuse du Ballet national du Canada, Veronica Tennant. En 2001, le gouvernement français lui a remis les insignes d'officier de l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres. Elle est aussi compagnon de l'Ordre du Canada. En 2002, elle a reçu un Prix du Gouverneur général pour les arts de la scène.

Karen Kain a été nommée directrice artistique du Ballet national du Canada en 2005.

Sites Web :

Ballet national du Canada (anglais seulement)

Pour en savoir plus :

Kain, Karen, avec Stephen Godfrey et Penelope Reed Doob, Karen Kain: Movement Never Lies, An Autobiography, Toronto, McClelland & Stewart, 1994.