This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

James Kudelka

choreography / National Ballet of Canada

(1955- )

Canada's James Kudelka is one of the world's leading ballet choreographers. He was born in Newmarket, Ontario, and began to choreograph while still a student at the National Ballet School in Toronto. From 1972 until 1981, he was a dancer with the National Ballet of Canada, although he continued to hone his choreographic skills.

Kudelka left Toronto to join Les Grands Ballets Canadiens (later renamed Les Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal) as a principal dancer and the company's resident choreographer. He returned to the National Ballet of Canada in the early 1990s as artist-in-residence. In 1996, he was appointed the company's artistic director.

Kudelka is particularly known for his works In Paradisum (1983), which he created for Les Grands Ballets Canadiens, and Fifteen Heterosexual Duets (1991) , commissioned by Toronto Dance Theatre. Kudelka has choreographed his own versions of the classics such as Swan Lake (1999), as well as original full-length story ballets such as The Contract (2002) and An Italian Straw Hat (2005).

Kudelka's artistic dexterity, his ability to combine classical ballet technique with other dance idioms and his own contemporary perspective on eternal themes such as love, loss and sexuality have resulted in numerous commissions from other dance companies in North America, including Dancemakers, the Joffrey Ballet, the San Francisco Ballet and American Ballet Theatre.

Kudelka is the recipient of numerous awards, including two Jean A. Chalmers Awards (1973 and 1993) and two Dora Mavor Moore Awards (1995 and 1996). In spring 2005, Kudelka announced his resignation as artistic director of the National Ballet of Canada and to now works as the company's resident choreographer.

Websites:

National Ballet of Canada

Learn more:

Doob, Penelope Reed. “Creative Roles, Creative Processes: Reflections on the Choreographic Practices of James Kudelka and Dominique Dumais / Rôles créatifs et processus de creation: reflexions sur les pratiques chorégraphiques de James Kudelka et Dominique Dumais.” Estivale 2000: Canadian Dancing Bodies Then and Now / Les corps dansants d’hier à aujourd’hui au Canada. Ed. Iro Valaskakis Tembeck. Toronto: Dance Collection Danse, 2002: 33-57.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

James Kudelka

chorégraphie / Ballet national du Canada

(1955- )

Le Canadien James Kudelka est l'un des plus importants chorégraphes de ballet au monde. Natif de Newmarket (Ontario), il a créé ses premières chorégraphies alors qu'il étudiait à l'École nationale de ballet à Toronto. De 1972 à 1981, il a dansé avec le Ballet national du Canada, tout en continuant d'affiner ses dons de chorégraphe.

M. Kudelka a quitté Toronto pour rejoindre Les Grands Ballets Canadiens (rebaptisés depuis Les Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal) à titre de premier danseur et chorégraphe résident. Il est revenu au Ballet national du Canada comme artiste résident au début des années 1990. En 1996, il a été nommé directeur artistique de la compagnie.

Ses œuvres les plus célèbres sont In Paradisum (1983), qu'il a créé pour Les Grands Ballets Canadiens, et Fifteen Heterosexual Duets (1991) , une commande du Toronto Dance Theatre. M. Kudelka a aussi chorégraphié ses propres versions de classiques comme le Lac des cygnes (1999), ainsi que des ballets narratif intégraux originaux tels The Contract (2002) et Un chapeau de paille d'Italie (2005).

Sa maîtrise artistique, son habileté à combiner la technique du ballet classique avec d'autres formes de danse, et son point de vue personnel et contemporain sur les thèmes éternels de l'amour, du deuil et de la sexualité ont attiré à James Kudelka de nombreuses commandes de diverses compagnies de danse nord-américaines, pour ne citer que les Dancemakers, le Joffrey Ballet, le San Francisco Ballet et l'American Ballet Theatre.

Lauréat de nombreux prix, il a notamment remporté le prix Jean A. Chalmers à deux reprises (en 1973 et en 1993), ainsi que deux prix Dora Mavor Moore (en 1995 et en 1996). Au printemps 2005, il a annoncé qu'il quittait son poste de directeur artistique du Ballet national du Canada, pour lequel il œuvre toujours à titre de chorégraphe résident.

Sites Web :

Ballet national du Canada (anglais seulement)

Pour en savoir plus :

Doob, Penelope Reed, « Creative Roles, Creative Processes: Reflections on the Choreographic Practices of James Kudelka and Dominique Dumais / Rôles créatifs et processus de création : réflexions sur les pratiques chorégraphiques de James Kudelka et Dominique Dumais », Estivale 2000 : Canadian Dancing Bodies Then and Now / Les corps dansants d’hier à aujourd’hui au Canada, publication dirigée par Iro Valaskakis Tembeck, Toronto, Dance Collection Danse, 2002, p. 33-57.