This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

This video is only available in French.
Read the transcript of this interview.

Biography

Édouard Lock

choreography / La La La Human Steps / dance-rock music collaborations

(1954- )

Édouard Lock is one of Canada's most internationally successful and innovative choreographers. In the early 1970s, he performed with Le Groupe de la Place Royale (later renamed Le Groupe Dance Lab). He received his first choreographic commission at the age of twenty-one from the company, Le Groupe Nouvelle Aire. In the 1970s, he also received commissions from the Montréal Museum of Fine Arts and Les Grands Ballets Canadiens (later renamed Les Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal). The National Arts Centre has co-produced his work many times.

Lock established his own company, Lock-Danseurs, in 1980, and eventually changed its name to La La La Human Steps. He quickly gained a reputation as a cutting-edge choreographer whose frenetically urban and androgynous movement attracted youthful audiences.

One of his most internationally successful works, Human Sex (1985), toured the world for two years. The piece won a 1986 Bessie Award (officially the New York Dance and Performance Awards). It also set the tone for Lock's subsequent work featuring his muse, Louise Lecavalier, a fearless dancer with platinum dreadlocks known for her ability to execute horizontal pirouettes.

Lock has frequently collaborated with other artists. He co-created and directed rock musician David Bowie's Sound and Vision world tour in 1989 and collaborated with Frank Zappa and Germany's Ensemble Modern on The Yellow Shark concerts. In addition, he has worked with some the most prestigious classical ballet and contemporary companies, such as Het Nationale Ballet and Nederlands Dans Theater 1 of Holland and Paris Opera Ballet.

Lock's Salt/Exaucé (1998) was an international co-production involving the National Arts Centre in Ottawa. It signaled Lock's increasing interest in the use of pointe work in his choreography. The inclusion of computer animation in Amelia (2002) demonstrated his continued exploration of the theatrical potential of technology. His film version of Amelia (2003) has won several awards.

Among his many honours, Lock was appointed Chevalier de l'Ordre National du Québec in 2001. That same year, he won a National Arts Centre Award in the field of dance as part of the Governor General's Performing Arts Awards for Salt/Exaucé. He was named an Officer of the Order of Canada in 2002.

Websites:

La La La Human Steps

Learn more:

Dwyer, Paul-James. “The Marriage of Ballet and Modern Dance.” Dance International 33.2 (Summer 2004): 14-17.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Édouard Lock

chorégraphie / La La La Human Steps / collaborations avec des musiciens rock

(1954- )

Édouard Lock est l'un des chorégraphes canadiens les plus révolutionnaires et les plus célébrés sur la scène internationale. Au début des années 1970, il dansait avec Le Groupe de la Place Royale (aujourd'hui Le Groupe Dance Lab). Il avait vingt-et-un ans quand Le Groupe Nouvelle Aire lui a passé sa première commande chorégraphique. Il a aussi créé des œuvres de commande, par la suite, pour le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal et Les Grands Ballets Canadiens (rebaptisés depuis Les Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal). Le Centre national des Arts a coproduit nombre de ses œuvres.

En 1980, il a fondé sa propre compagnie, Lock-Danseurs, et l'a rebaptisée La La La Human Steps peu après. Il s'est vite signalé par son art chorégraphique d'avant-garde, frénétique, urbain et androgyne, qui exerçait beaucoup d'attrait sur les jeunes publics.

L'une de ses œuvres les plus célèbres, Human Sex (1985), a tourné avec succès dans le monde entier pendant deux ans, récoltant un prix Bessie (« New York Dance and Performance Awards ») en 1986. La pièce donnait aussi le ton des chorégraphies à venir, qui allaient toutes mettre en évidence sa muse, Louise Lecavalier, l'intrépide danseuse aux dreadlocks platine, célèbre, notamment, pour ses pirouettes horizontales.

M. Lock collabore souvent avec d'autres artistes. Cocréateur et metteur en scène de la tournée mondiale Sound and Vision de David Bowie en 1989, il a aussi collaboré à la série de concerts The Yellow Shark avec Frank Zappa et l'Ensemble Modern d'Allemagne. De plus, il a travaillé avec des compagnies de ballet et de danse contemporaine aussi prestigieuses que le Het Nationale Ballet et le Nederlands Dans Theater 1 aux Pays-Bas, ainsi que le Ballet de l'Opéra de Paris.

Sa pièce Salt/Exaucé (1998), une coproduction internationale à laquelle a contribué le Centre national des Arts à Ottawa, témoigne de son intérêt croissant pour l'utilisation des pointes dans ses chorégraphies. Amelia (2002) inclut des animations par ordinateur, fruit de la constante recherche du chorégraphe sur les possibilités théâtrales de la technologie. Son adaptation à l'écran d'Amelia (2003) a remporté plusieurs prix.

Maintes fois primé, Édouard Lock a été nommé chevalier de l'Ordre national du Québec en 2001. La même année, il a reçu le Prix du Centre national des Arts, dans le cadre des Prix du Gouverneur général pour les arts de la scène, pour Salt/Exaucé. Il a été nommé officier de l'Ordre du Canada en 2002.

Sites Web :

La La La Human Steps

Pour en savoir plus :

Dwyer, Paul-James, « The Marriage of Ballet and Modern Dance »,

Époque, Martine,