This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Karen Kaeja

choreographers / contact improvisation / Kaeja d’Dance

(1961- )

Allen Kaeja and Karen Kaeja are co-artistic directors of Kaeja d'Dance in Toronto, Ontario, as well as life partners. They married in 1989 and formed the company two years later as a vehicle for their choreography, performance, touring and teaching activities. Fundamental to their work is the equal opportunities dance form of contact improvisation, out of which Kaeja d'Dance's athletic style of choreography developed.

Both Ontario-born artists bring wide influences to their work. Allen had nine years of wrestling and judo before entering the field of modern dance. Karen, while in York University's dance therapy program, was instrumental in developing a dance therapy course for the elderly. She also studied Mitzvah technique and was introduced to contact improvisation at this time.

Karen presented her first choreographic work, Hangman (1991), at Toronto's inaugural fFIDA (fringe Festival of Independent Dance Artists). Allen, who received the 1999 Clifford E. Lee Choreography Award, began choreographing in 1982. Among his most successful works are Old Country (1995) and Resistance (2000), both based on the Holocaust, a subject with personal resonance.

In addition to his stage work, Allen also choreographs for film. In 1997, he co-directed Witnessed, one of several collaborations with filmmaker Mark Adam. Another was Zummel (1999), which won Karen the award for Best Performance from Toronto's Moving Pictures Festival of Dance on Film and Video.

The two are active community players and, in 1997, Karen co-founded the Festival of Interactive Physics with dance improviser Pam Johnson. In 1991, Allen co-founded fFIDA with Michael Menegon; they were co-directors until Allen's departure in 2001.

Allen and Karen Kaeja are popular teachers of contact improvisation and improvisation. They have taught at the School of Toronto Dance Theatre and at Canada's National Ballet School, as well as internationally.

Websites:

Kaeja D’Dance Company

Learn more:

Oriold, Carol, Allen Kaeja and Karen Kaeja. Express Dance: Educators’ Resource for Teaching Dance. Toronto: Dance Collection Danse Press/es, 2000.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Karen Kaeja

chorégraphes / improvisation contact / Kaeja d’Dance

(1961- )

Les époux Allen et Karen Kaeja sont les codirecteurs artistiques de la compagnie Kaeja d'Dance de Toronto (Ontario). Ils se sont mariés en 1989 et ont fondé leur compagnie deux ans plus tard pour encadrer leurs activités de chorégraphes, d'interprètes, d'artistes de tournée et de pédagogues. L'improvisation contact, danse égalitaire entre toutes, est au cœur de leur démarche et a forgé le style chorégraphique athlétique de Kaeja d'Dance.

Ontariens de naissance, les deux artistes apportent des influences très étendues à leur œuvre de créateurs. Allen a pratiqué la lutte et le judo pendant neuf ans avant de se tourner vers la danse moderne. Karen, alors qu'elle suivait le programme de thérapie par la danse de l'Université York, a initié la création d'un cours de thérapie par la danse pour les aînés. Elle a aussi étudié la technique Mitzvah et l'improvisation contact à la même époque.

Karen a présenté sa première chorégraphie, Hangman (1991), dans le cadre du tout premier fFIDA (fringe Festival of Independent Dance Artists) à Toronto. Allen, qui a reçu le prix de chorégraphie Clifford E. Lee en 1999, a créé ses premières pièces en 1982 et s'est illustré, notamment, avec Old Country (1995) et Resistance (2000), deux œuvres inspirées de l'Holocauste – un thème qui a pour lui des résonances particulières.

En plus de son travail à la scène, Allen chorégraphie également pour le cinéma. En 1997, il a coréalisé Witnessed, l'une de ses nombreuses collaborations avec le cinéaste Mark Adam – qui comptent aussi Zummel (1999), film pour lequel Karen a reçu le prix de la meilleure interprète au Moving Pictures Festival of Dance on Film and Video de Toronto.

Les deux époux sont très actifs sur la scène communautaire. En 1997, Karen a cofondé le Festival of Interactive Physics avec l'improvisatrice de danse Pam Johnson. Son partenaire, pour sa part, a cofondé le fFIDA avec Michael Menegon en 1991, et les deux hommes ont codirigé le festival jusqu'au départ d'Allen en 2001.

Allen et Karen Kaeja sont aussi des professeurs très appréciés d'improvisation contact et de danse improvisée. Ils ont enseigné à l'école du Toronto Dance Theatre et à l'École nationale de ballet du Canada, ainsi que sur la scène internationale.

Sites Web :

Kaeja D’Dance Company (anglais seulement)

Pour en savoir plus :

Oriold, Carol, Allen Kaeja et Karen Kaeja, Express Dance: Educators’ Resource for Teaching Dance, Toronto, Dance Collection Danse Press/es, 2000.