This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Jennifer Mascall

EDAM / Mascall Dance / Nijinsky Gibber Jazz Club

(1952- )

Jennifer Mascall was one of the first graduates of the dance department at York University. She subsequently moved to Vancouver to co-found the creative collective EDAM (Experimental Dance and Music) with dancers Peter Bingham, Barbara Bourget, Jay Hirabayashi, Lola MacLaughlin, Peter Ryan and musician Ahmed Hassan.

In 1989, Mascall established her company Mascall Dance, a vehicle for her choreography, including Housewerk (2002). Under the company's auspices, she also directs the Nijinsky Gibber Jazz Club, an improvisation research group that often performs in non-traditional venues such as bars and churches.

Mascall is a certified Body-Mind Centering™ practitioner. She is also a popular dance teacher who has been a guest instructor at the Stratford Festival and Simon Fraser University, among other institutions. As a choreographer, she has received commissions from several independent artists as well as Dancemakers in Toronto and the Canada Dance Festival in Ottawa.

Mascall's awards include the Jacqueline Lemieux Prize and a Dora Mavor Moore Award, both in 1983; a Jessie Award (Vancouver theatre) in 1988; and a Commemorative Medal for the 125th Anniversary of Canadian Confederation in 1992.

Websites:

Mascall Dance

Learn more:

Whyte, Imogen. “At Home Beyond the Walls: Jennifer Mascall.” The Dance Current 5.7 (December 2002/January 2003): 12-14.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Jennifer Mascall

EDAM / Mascall Dance / Nijinsky Gibber Jazz Club

(1952- )

Jennifer Mascall a été l'une des premières diplômées du département de la danse de l'Université York. Par la suite, elle a déménagé à Vancouver pour co-fonder le collectif de créateurs EDAM (Experimental Dance and Music) avec les danseurs Peter Bingham, Barbara Bourget, Jay Hirabayashi, Lola MacLaughlin et Peter Ryan ainsi que le musicien Ahmed Hassan.

En 1989, elle a formé sa propre compagnie, Mascall Dance, pour présenter ses chorégraphies ; Housewerk (2002) est son œuvre la plus connue. Sous les auspices de la compagnie, elle dirige aussi le Nijinsky Gibber Jazz Club, un groupe de recherche en improvisation qui se produit souvent en des lieux inusités comme des bars et des églises.

Mme Mascall est une praticienne agréée de la méthode Body-Mind Centering™. Elle est aussi une professeure de danse très appréciée, qui a notamment œuvré comme professeure invitée au Festival de Stratford et à l'Université Simon Fraser. À titre de chorégraphe, elle a honoré des commandes pour plusieurs artistes indépendants ainsi que pour les Dancemakers à Toronto et le Festival Danse Canada à Ottawa.

Jennifer Mascall a remporté le Prix Jacqueline Lemieux et un prix Dora Mavor Moore en 1983, un prix Jessie (prix du théâtre à Vancouver) en 1988, et une Médaille commémorative du 125e anniversaire de la Confédération canadienne en 1992.

Sites Web :

Mascall Dance (anglais seulement)

Pour en savoir plus :

Whyte, Imogen, « At Home Beyond the Walls: Jennifer Mascall », The Dance Current, vol. 5, no 7 (décembre 2002/janvier 2003), p. 12-14.