This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Crystal Pite

Ballet British Columbia / Ballett Frankfurt / Kidd Pivot

(1970- )

Crystal Pite is known as one of the most innovative and exciting choreographers working in Canada at the turn of the millennium. She joined Ballet British Columbia when she was seventeen and performed with the company for eight years. Unlike most professional ballet dancers, Pite did not attend a professional school attached to a company. Instead, she studied at a private studio in Victoria, British Columbia, under the tutelage of Maureen Eastick and Wendy Green.

While performing with Ballet British Columbia, Pite honed her choreographic skills. Between the Bliss and Me (1989), a work she created during the company's first choreographic workshop, was added to Ballet British Columbia's repertoire. In 1995, she became the youngest artist to receive the prestigious Clifford E. Lee Choreographic Award.

She left Ballet British Columbia in 1996 to join Frankfurt Ballet under the direction of William Forsythe. She returned to Canada in 2001, and was appointed resident choreographer for Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal (later renamed bjm_danse) for a three-year contract. During this period, she created the critically acclaimed work The Stolen Show (2004). Pite also started her own Vancouver-based company, Kidd Pivot.

Pite's choreography is noted for its quirky humour and fearless technique. Several of her works have reflected a creative engagement with other art forms, particularly literature. Field: Fiction (2002) was inspired by the book, The Writing Life by Annie Dillard.

In 2004, Pite received a Paul D. Fleck Fellowship in the Arts from The Banff Centre. She was also awarded the Alcan Performing Arts Award – Dance for 2006, administered by the Vancouver East Cultural Centre.

Websites:

Kidd Pivot

Learn more:

Cornell, Katherine. “Crystal Pite: Back on Canadian Soil.” The Dance Current 5.4 (September 2002): 10-13.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Cette vidéo est seulement disponible en anglais.
Lisez la transcription de l'entrevue.

Biographie

Crystal Pite

Ballet British Columbia / Ballet de Francfort / Kidd Pivot

(1970- )

Crystal Pite compte parmi les chorégraphes les plus novateurs et inspirants qui œuvrent au Canada en ce début de millénaire. Elle s'est jointe au Ballet British Columbia à dix-sept ans et s'est produite pendant huit ans avec cette compagnie. Contrairement à la plupart des danseurs de ballet professionnels, Mme Pite n'a pas étudié dans une école rattachée à une compagnie. Elle a plutôt reçu sa formation dans un studio privé de Victoria (Colombie-Britannique) sous la conduite de Maureen Eastick et Wendy Green.

Tout en dansant pour le Ballet British Columbia, Mme Pite aiguisait ses talents de chorégraphe. Between the Bliss and Me (1989), une œuvre qu'elle a créée dans le cadre du premier atelier de chorégraphie de la compagnie, est maintenant inscrite au répertoire du Ballet British Columbia. En 1995, elle est devenue la plus jeune artiste à recevoir le prestigieux prix Clifford E. Lee pour la chorégraphie.

Elle a quitté le Ballet British Columbia en 1996 pour se joindre au Ballet de Francfort sous la direction de William Forsythe. De retour au Canada en 2001, elle a été nommée chorégraphe résidente des Ballets Jazz de Montréal (aujourd'hui [bjm_danse]) pour trois ans. Pendant cette période, elle a créé The Stolen Show (2004), une œuvre encensée par la critique. Elle a aussi lancé sa propre compagnie, Kidd Pivot, basée à Vancouver.

L'art chorégraphique de Crystal Pite est renommé pour son humour débridé et sa technique intrépide. Plusieurs de ses pièces reflètent sa passion pour d'autres formes d'art, en particulier la littérature. Sa pièce Field: Fiction (2002), par exemple, lui a été inspirée par un ouvrage d'Annie Dillard intitulé En vivant, en écrivant.

En 2004, elle a reçu la bourse Paul D. Fleck pour les arts du Banff Centre. Elle a aussi mérité le prix Alcan pour les arts de la scène en danse 2006, décerné par le Vancouver East Cultural Centre.

Sites Web :

Kidd Pivot

Pour en savoir plus :

Cornell, Katherine, « Crystal Pite: Back on Canadian Soil », The Dance Current, vol. 5, no 4 (septembre 2002), p. 10-13.