This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Tedd Robinson

Winnipeg’s Contemporary Dancers / 10 Gates Dancing Inc.

(1952- )

Born in Ottawa, Canada, Tedd Robinson graduated with a Bachelor of Fine Arts from York University in Toronto. He also studied at the School of Toronto Dance Theatre and with eminent British visual theatre artist Lindsay Kemp.

Robinson first rose to prominence as artistic director of Winnipeg's Contemporary Dancers from 1984 until 1990. There, he created highly theatrical ensemble works, including He Called Me His Blind Angel (1988) and Lepidoptera (1989).

Robinson returned to Ottawa in 1990 to pursue a solo career. He is now firmly established as a choreographer, educator and solo artist. His award-winning works have won him a multitude of commissions and an international schedule of touring and teaching. The critically acclaimed Rokudo: six destinies in three steps (1996) received the 1998 Chalmers National Dance Award.

Since 1990, Robinson has worked in close collaboration with Le Groupe Dance Lab in Ottawa. He also collaborates with other artists. In 2004, he worked with Louise Lecavalier on the creation of a new quartet, Cobalt Rouge. The work premiered in February 2005 and was a co-production of the National Arts Centre in Ottawa, la Biennale di Venizia and Théâtre de la Ville in Paris.

From 1994 until 2000, Robinson was a practicing monk of hakukaze soto zen in Ottawa, Canada. Robinson is artistic director of 10 Gates Dancing Inc., a non-profit company formed in 1998 to promote the development and performance of contemporary dance creations.

Websites:

10 Gates Dancing Inc.

Learn more:

Theodores, Diana. Writing Dance, Righting Dance. Cork: icd, 2000.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Cette vidéo est seulement disponible en anglais.
Lisez la transcription de l'entrevue.

Biographie

Tedd Robinson

Winnipeg’s Contemporary Dancers / 10 Gates Dancing Inc.

(1952- )

Natif d'Ottawa (Canada), Tedd Robinson est détenteur d'un baccalauréat en beaux-arts de l'Université York de Toronto. Il a aussi étudié à l'école du Toronto Dance Theatre et auprès de l'éminent mime britannique Lindsay Kemp.

Il s'est fait connaître comme directeur artistique des Winnipeg's Contemporary Dancers de 1984 à 1990. À Winnipeg, il s'est illustré en créant des pièces d'ensemble très théâtrales, notamment He Called Me His Blind Angel (1988) et Lepidoptera (1989).

M. Robinson est rentré à Ottawa en 1990 pour entreprendre une carrière en solo. Sa réputation de chorégraphe, éducateur et artiste soliste est désormais solidement établie. Ses œuvres primées lui ont attiré une multitude de commandes ainsi qu'un emploi du temps chargé sur la scène internationale, tant comme artiste de tournée qu'en qualité de professeur. Acclamée par la critique, sa pièce Rokudo: six destinies in three steps (1996) a été couronnée du Prix Chalmers pour la danse en 1998.

Depuis 1990, M. Robinson travaille en étroite collaboration avec Le Groupe Lab de danse à Ottawa. Il collabore aussi avec d'autres artistes : en 2004, il a travaillé avec Louise Lecavalier à la création d'un nouveau quartette, Cobalt rouge. La première de cette œ uvre a été donnée en février 2005, en coproduction avec le Centre national des Arts à Ottawa, la Biennale de Venise et le Théâtre de la Ville à Paris.

De 1994 à 2000, Tedd Robinson a été un moine hakukaze soto zen pratiquant à Ottawa (Canada). Il assure la direction artistique de 10 Gates Dancing Inc., une compagnie sans but lucratif fondée en 1998 pour promouvoir le développement et la diffusion de créations en danse contemporaine.

Sites Web :

10 Gates Dancing Inc. (anglais seulement)

Pour en savoir plus :

Theodores, Diana, Writing Dance, Righting Dance, Cork, icd, 2000.