This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Peter Ryan

contact improvisation / EDAM / Four on the Floor Dance

(1946- )

Peter Ryan is one of Canada's most accomplished proponents of contact improvisation. A former member of Canada's national rowing team, Ryan first studied dance during the 1970s with Linda Rubin in Vancouver. He also studied closely with American contact improvisation pioneers Steve Paxton and Nancy Stark Smith.

Ryan danced for several Vancouver choreographers, including Karen Jamieson, before joining forces with fellow Vancouver artists Peter Bingham, Barbara Bourget, Jay Hirabayashi, Lola MacLaughlin, Jennifer Mascall and musician Ahmed Hassan to establish EDAM (Experimental Dance and Music), a creative collective and multi-media performance company.

After a sojourn in France, Ryan moved to Ottawa in 1993. There, he directed Four on the Floor Dance, a multi-disciplinary, improvisational performance group. He also became the chair of the board of Directors for Dance Ontario and a member of the board of the Council for the Arts in Ottawa.

Not only a performer, Ryan also has extensive teaching experience. For numerous years, he has taught movement to both dancers and actors at several Canadian institutions, including Simon Fraser University, Studio'58 and the Vancouver Playhouse in British Columbia; and the University of Ottawa and the Dance Network Studios in Ontario. For several years Ryan annually travelled to Greece to teach members of the Sxedia Dance Company in Athens.

As a writer and cultural commentator, Ryan has worked for CBC radio. He has also written articles about the development of contact improvisation in Canada.

Learn more:

Ryan, Peter. 10,000 Jams Later: Contact Improvisation in Canada, 1974-1995. Dance Connection 13.3 (September / October 1995): 16-24.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Peter Ryan

danse contact improvisée / EDAM / Four on the Floor Dance

(1946- )

Peter Ryan est l'un des praticiens les plus accomplis de la danse contact improvisée au Canada. Ancien membre de l'équipe nationale d'aviron du Canada, il a entrepris sa formation en danse auprès de Linda Rubin à Vancouver dans les années 1970. Il a aussi eu pour mentors Steve Paxton et Nancy Stark Smith, pionniers américains de la danse contact improvisée.

M. Ryan a dansé pour plusieurs chorégraphes de Vancouver, notamment Karen Jamieson, avant de se joindre à quelques-uns de ses pairs vancouvérois – Peter Bingham, Barbara Bourget, Jay Hirabayashi, Lola MacLaughlin, Jennifer Mascall – ainsi qu'au musicien Ahmed Hassan pour fonder EDAM (Experimental Dance and Music), à la fois collectif de créateurs et compagnie de spectacles multimédias.

En 1993, après un séjour en France, M. Ryan a déménagé à Ottawa, où il a dirigé le groupe de performance et d'improvisation multidisciplinaire Four on the Floor Dance. Il est aussi devenu membre des conseils d'administration de l'organisme Dance Ontario et du Conseil des Arts d'Ottawa.

Interprète de renom, M. Ryan est également un professeur chevronné. Pendant de nombreuses années, il a enseigné à des danseurs et des acteurs dans plusieurs établissements canadiens, y compris à l'Université Simon Fraser, au Studio'58 et à la Vancouver Playhouse en Colombie-Britannique, de même qu'à l'Université d'Ottawa et aux Dance Network Studios en Ontario. Il s'est aussi rendu plusieurs années de suite en Grèce pour enseigner aux membres de la Compagnie de danse Sxedia à Athènes.

Peter Ryan a travaillé, de plus, comme rédacteur et commentateur culturel pour la radio de la CBC, le réseau anglais de Radio-Canada. On lui doit aussi plusieurs articles sur le développement de la danse contact improvisée au Canada.

Pour en savoir plus :

Ryan, Peter, « 10,000 Jams Later: Contact Improvisation in Canada, 1974-1995 », Dance Connection, vol. 13, no 3 (septembre/octobre 1995), p. 16-24.