This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Rina Singha

kathak / Kathak Institute / Rina Singha Dance Organization

(1937- )

Kathak dancer Rina Singha was born in Calcutta. While attending university in Hyderabad, she was chosen for a government-sponsored project intended to revive and preserve India's classical dance styles. She subsequently became a soloist in India's premier kathak dance company and an internationally acclaimed performer who has toured the world.

In 1960, while Singha was working on her PhD in geography in England, she was asked by esteemed dancer Ram Gopal to become the lead female dancer in his company. Five years later, Singha and her family immigrated to Canada where she worked to improve the understanding of dance traditions from around the world.

To this end, in the 1970s she designed and taught a world dance course at York University and developed Heritage Canada, one of the first multicultural programs for the Toronto public school system. In addition, she created a “Cultural Clues Approach to Learning” program that has been implemented in numerous schools. She has also been involved in creating educational videos for UNICEF.

In the late 1990s, she collaborated with the Music Gallery in Toronto to create the Legacies In Dance festival, which presents and promotes non-Western dance. To increase awareness of kathak dance, Singha founded the Kathak Institute as well as the Rina Singha Dance Organization.

As a dance ethnologist, Singha has researched dance narratives from around the world. As a choreographer, she is noted for blending her Christian faith with her kathak training in works such as Yeshu Katha – 4 women tell the story of Jesus (1991).

Learn more:

Singha, Rina, with Reginald Massey. Indian Dances: Their History and Growth. London: Faber and Faber, 1967.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Rina Singha

kathak / Kathak Institute / Rina Singha Dance Organization

(1937- )

La danseuse de kathak Rina Singha est née à Calcutta. Durant ses études universitaires à Hyderabad, elle a été sélectionnée pour prendre part à un projet financé par l'État qui visait à raviver et préserver les danses classiques de l'Inde. Par la suite, elle est devenue soliste au sein de la plus importante compagnie de danse kathak de l'Inde, avec laquelle elle a tourné partout dans le monde, s'imposant sur la scène internationale comme une interprète de premier plan.

En 1960, alors qu'elle préparait son doctorat en géographie en Angleterre, l'éminent danseur Ram Gopal l'a invitée à devenir première danseuse de sa compagnie. Cinq ans plus tard, Mme Singha a immigré avec sa famille au Canada, où elle s'est appliquée à faire connaître et apprécier les danses traditionnelles du monde entier.

À cette fin, elle a conçu et enseigné dans les années 1970 un cours de danse à l'Université York et a développé Heritage Canada, l'un des premiers programmes multiculturels offerts dans les écoles publiques de Toronto. Elle a aussi créé un programme d'« apprentissage par la culture » qui a été mis en œuvre dans plusieurs écoles. De plus, elle a participé à la création de vidéos éducatives pour l'UNICEF.

À la fin des années 1990, elle a collaboré avec la Music Gallery de Toronto pour mettre sur pied le festival Legacies In Dance, qui assure la diffusion et la promotion des danses non occidentales. Afin de mieux faire connaître la danse kathak, elle a également fondé le Kathak Institute ainsi que la compagnie Rina Singha Dance Organization.

Ethnologue de la danse, Rina Singha a étudié les traditions de danse du monde entier. En tant que chorégraphe, elle s'est signalée en associant sa foi chrétienne à sa formation en kathak dans des œuvres comme Yeshu Katha – 4 women tell the story of Jesus (1991).

Pour en savoir plus :

Singha, Rina, avec Reginald Massey, Indian Dances: Their History and Growth, Londres, Faber and Faber, 1967.