This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Grant Strate

choreography / institution building / pedagogy / dance writing

(1927- )

Albertan-born Grant Strate, who originally trained as a lawyer, is known as a judicious leader who has presided over the development of many important Canadian dance institutions. In 1951, he joined the newly formed National Ballet of Canada. During his twenty years with the company, he also served as administrative assistant to artistic director Celia Franca and as the company's first resident choreographer.

Throughout the 1950s and 1960s, Strate choreographed numerous works for the company, including The House of Atreus (1964). He has choreographed over fifty works for companies in Europe and Canada, including the Royal Flemish Ballet, the Royal Swedish Ballet, Regina Modern Dance Works, Toronto Dance Theatre and Dancemakers.

Strate became the founding chair of the dance department at York University in 1971. During the 1970s, he also became the founding chair of the Dance in Canada Association and launched the National Choreographic Seminars, to bring emerging choreographers together with composers.

In 1980, Strate was appointed director of the Centre for the Arts (later renamed The School for the Contemporary Arts) at Simon Fraser University, where he oversaw the creative disciplines of dance, theatre, music and film. Also in the 1980s, he became the founding chair of the Vancouver Dance Centre and served as a member of the British Columbia Arts Board. In the late 1990s, his influence extended over the entire continent when he was elected President of the World Dance Alliance for the Americas.

In addition to his administrative work, Strate is an internationally acclaimed teacher who has taught across Canada, the United States, South-East Asia and China, at institutions such as The Juilliard School in New York and the Beijing Dance Academy. He is also the author of several books.

Strate was made a Member of the Order of Canada in 1995. The following year this statesman of Canadian dance was honoured with a Governor General's Performing Arts Award.

Learn more:

Strate, Grant. China Journal. Toronto: Dance Collection Danse Press/es, 1997.

---. A Memoir. Toronto: Dance Collection Danse Press/es, 2002.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Grant Strate

chorégraphie / édification d’institutions / pédagogie / écrits sur la danse

(1927- )

Albertain de naissance, Grant Strate a d'abord reçu une formation d'avocat. Initiateur éclairé, il a présidé au développement de nombreuses institutions importantes dans le monde de la danse canadienne. En 1951, il s'est joint au Ballet national du Canada, qui venait d'être formé. En vingt ans avec la compagnie, il a aussi œuvré comme adjoint administratif de la directrice artistique Celia Franca et chorégraphe résident.

Tout au long des années 1950 et 1960, M. Strate a chorégraphié de nombreuses pièces pour la compagnie, notamment The House of Atreus (1964). Il a également signé plus de cinquante chorégraphies pour des compagnies européennes et canadiennes, en particulier le Ballet Royal de Flandre, le Ballet royal de Suède, Regina Modern Dance Works, le Toronto Dance Theatre et les Dancemakers.

M. Strate est devenu le doyen fondateur du département de la danse de l'Université York en 1971. Dans les années 1970, il s'est également signalé comme président fondateur de l'association Dance in Canada et a lancé une série de séminaires nationaux sur la chorégraphie, qui réunissaient des chorégraphes émergents et des compositeurs.

En 1980, M. Strate a été nommé directeur du Centre for the Arts (ultérieurement rebaptisé The School for the Contemporary Arts) à l'Université Simon Fraser, où il a supervisé les programmes de danse, de théâtre, de musique et de cinéma. Également dans les années 1980, il a été le président fondateur du Vancouver Dance Centre et un membre actif du British Columbia Arts Board. Vers la fin des années 1990, son influence s'est étendue à tout le continent quand il a été élu président de l'Alliance Mondiale de la Danse pour les Amériques.

En plus d'assumer ses nombreuses fonctions administratives, M. Strate est un professeur renommé sur la scène internationale, qui a enseigné au Canada, aux États-Unis, dans le Sud-est asiatique et en Chine, en particulier à la Juilliard School de New York et à l'Académie de danse de Beijing. Il est aussi l'auteur de plusieurs ouvrages.

Grant Strate a été reçu membre de l'Ordre du Canada en 1995. L'année suivante, ce grand bâtisseur de la danse canadienne a été honoré d'un Prix du Gouverneur général pour les arts de la scène.

Pour en savoir plus :

Strate, Grant, China Journal, Toronto, Dance Collection Danse Press/es, 1997.

---, A Memoir, Toronto, Dance Collection Danse Press/es, 2002.