This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui

Belgian contemporary dance / interdisciplinary creation / Les Ballets C. de la B.

(1976- )

Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui fuses various techniques including hip hop, modern, jazz, ballet, Irish, African and kathak into his own choreographic style. His works are theatrical, dynamic, music-driven productions.

Growing up in Antwerp, Belgium, Cherkaoui taught himself to dance by watching music videos. With a Flemish mother and a Moroccan father, Cherkaoui says his dual upbringing made him feel in-between. He soon realized that dance and music could also be that way.

Cherkaoui began dancing for television and performed hip hop with The Bang Gang Dance Company before studying at Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker's dance school, PARTS (Professional Arts Research and Training Studios). He received his first award in 1995 for Best Belgian Dance Solo in a competition in Ghent launched by Alain Platel.

Two years later, Platel asked Cherkaoui to work on Iets op Bach (1998). The production was staged by Les Ballets C. de la B., a choreographic collective formed by Platel. Iets op Bach became a worldwide success and toured internationally from 1998 until 2001.

Cherkaoui has won many awards, including the Fringe First Award at the Edinburgh Festival in 1999, the Barclay Theatre Award in 2000 and Best Choreography at the Movimentos Awards in Wolfsburg, Germany, in 2003. He has staged subsequent works like Rien de Rien (2000) and Foi (2003) through Les Ballets C. de la B.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui

danse contemporaine belge / création interdisciplinaire / Les Ballets C. de la B.

(1976- )

L'art chorégraphique de Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui fusionne différentes techniques – y compris le hip-hop, la danse moderne, le jazz, le ballet, les danses traditionnelles irlandaises et africaines et le kathak. Ses œuvres sont théâtrales, dynamiques, portées par la musique.

Durant son enfance à Anvers, en Belgique, il s'est initié à la danse en autodidacte, en observant des vidéoclips. Né d'une mère flamande et d'un père marocain, il affirme lui-même s'être toujours senti « dans l'entre-deux ». Il a vite pris conscience que les rapports entre la danse et la musique pouvaient refléter cet état particulier.

Il a commencé à danser pour la télévision et s'est produit dans un groupe de hip-hop, The Bang Gang Dance Company, avant d'étudier à l'école de danse d' Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, PARTS (Professional Arts Research and Training Studios). Il a remporté son premier prix en 1995 pour le « meilleur solo belge » dans le cadre d'un concours à Gand initié par Alain Platel.

Deux ans plus tard, Alain Platel lui a demandé de collaborer à la création de Iets op Bach (1998), une production des Ballets C. de la B., le collectif formé par M. Platel. Iets op Bach a récolté un succès planétaire et tourné sur la scène internationale de 1998 à 2001.

Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui a récolté de nombreux prix, y compris le Fringe First Award au Festival d'Édimbourg en 1999, le Barclay Theatre Award en 2000 et le prix Movimentos de la meilleure chorégraphie à Wolfsburg (Allemagne) en 2003. Il a monté d'autres pièces avec Les Ballets C. de la B., notamment Rien de Rien (2000) et Foi (2003).