This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Lata Pada

choreographer / Sampradaya Dance Creations / bharata natyam

(1947- )

Lata Pada, the artistic director of Sampradaya Dance Creations, is an important leader in South Asian dance in Canada. As a choreographer and performer, she is a noted exponent of the classical Indian dance form of bharata natyam. Pada is strongly committed to presenting bharata natyam as a world art form with contemporary relevance.

Born in Bangalore, India, Pada studied bharata natyam from age eight. She trained under master teachers Kalaimamani Kalyanasundaram and Padmabhushan Kalanidhi Narayanan. At age 13, Pada gave her solo debut recital known as the arangetram.

Pada's career as a soloist began in 1965, the year after she immigrated to Canada. At this time, her work was largely traditional. However, when she lived in Indonesia for several years, Pada became interested in cross-cultural collaboration and opened up her choreography to other influences. On her return to Canada in 1979, Pada's solo dances featured bharata natyam in a traditional form and in a more contemporary style.

In 1990, Pada founded Sampradaya Dance Creations in Toronto, Ontario, and Sampradaya Dance Academy in nearby Mississauga. Sampradaya Dance Creations presents a range of solo and ensemble choreography in both a classical and contemporary repertoire. The company is also engaged in education and community outreach.

Revealed By Fire (2001), Pada's most acclaimed choreographic work, is a multimedia dance/theatre production performed at its premiere by Pada and five dancers from her company. It is based on Pada's tragic loss of her husband and two daughters in the 1985 Air India mid-air explosion from terrorism. Artistic contributors include South Asian composer R.A. Ramamani and, from Canada, composer Timothy Sullivan, photographer Cylla von Tiedemann and playwright Judith Rudakoff.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Lata Pada

chorégraphe / Sampradaya Dance Creations / bharatanatyam

(1947- )

Directrice artistique de Sampradaya Dance Creations, Lata Pada est une figure de proue de la danse asiatique au Canada. Chorégraphe et interprète renommée de bharatanatyam, une forme de danse classique de l'Inde, elle se voue à la promotion de cette discipline qu'elle présente comme un art universel et véritablement contemporain.

Native de Bangalore, en Inde, elle a entrepris l'étude du bharatanatyam à huit ans. Formée par les maîtres Kalaimamani Kalyanasundaram et Padmabhushan Kalanidhi Narayanan, elle a donné son premier récital en solo (son arangetram ) à treize ans.

Sa carrière de soliste a débuté en 1965, un an après son immigration au Canada. À cette époque, sa démarche ne dérogeait pas à la tradition. Mais après avoir séjournée plusieurs années en Indonésie, elle a commencé à s'intéresser davantage aux collaborations interculturelles et a ouvert son art à d'autres influences. Depuis son retour au Canada, en 1979, elle alterne les solos de bharatanatyam traditionnels et d'autres plus contemporains.

En 1990, elle a fondé Sampradaya Dance Creations à Toronto (Ontario), et la Sampradaya Dance Academy près de Mississauga. Sampradaya Dance Creations présente des solos et des pièces d'ensemble de styles classique et contemporain. La compagnie est aussi très active dans les champs de l'éducation et du rayonnement communautaire.

Revealed By Fire (2001), la chorégraphie la plus applaudie de Lata Pada, est une production de danse-théâtre multimédia, dont la première a été donnée par la chorégraphe elle-même et cinq danseurs de sa compagnie. L'œuvre lui a été inspirée par l'horrible tragédie qu'elle a vécue quand son époux et ses deux filles ont trouvé la mort dans l'explosion du vol d'Air India provoquée par un attentat terroriste en 1985. Elle a été créée en collaboration avec le compositeur indien R.A. Ramamani et les Canadiens Timothy Sullivan (compositeur), Cylla von Tiedemann (photographe) et Judith Rudakoff (dramaturge).