This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Trisha Brown

Judson Dance Theater / Grand Union / Trisha Brown Company

(1936- )

Trisha Brown is one of the innovators of post-modern dance in the United States. In 1962, she was one of the dancers who founded the collective Judson Dance Theater. The collective was made up of an avant-garde group of dance artists in New York.

During the 1960s, they challenged standard definitions of dance, rejecting ballet and modern aesthetics in favour of collective creation and improvisation. They believed that anyone should be able to dance and that any type of movement could be considered dance.

In 1970, Brown was involved in the creation of the improvisational dance company, Grand Union. That same year, she started her own troupe, Trisha Brown Company.

During the first part of her career, Brown rejected the performance conventions of music, lighting and costumes. She also avoided creating choreography that told stories. Instead, she experimented with the geometric shapes created by moving bodies, as well as with movements, such as walking, that were borrowed from everyday life.

Brown often created site-specific work (pieces performed outside or in other non-traditional places). Her piece Walking on the Wall (1971) featured dancers using mountain-climbing gear to defy gravity as they walked along the side of a building.

In later work, Brown has choreographed to classical music. In 1996, she reworked a solo into a duet, You Can See Us, for herself and ballet icon Mikhail Baryshnikov. Her 2003 work Present Tense premiered in Cannes, France, and featured aerial dancing.

Websites:

Trisha Brown Company

Learn more:

Banes, Sally, ed. Reinventing Dance in the 1960s: Everything was Possible. Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 2003.

Aeschlimann, Roland. Trisha Brown: Dance and Art in Dialogue, 1961–2001. Andover, Mass.: Addison Gallery of American Art, 2002.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Trisha Brown

Judson Dance Theater / Grand Union / Trisha Brown Company

(1936- )

Trisha Brown figure parmi les principaux innovateurs de la danse postmoderne aux États-Unis. En 1962, elle faisait partie du collectif d'artistes d'avant-garde new-yorkais qui ont fondé le Judson Dance Theater.

Dans les années soixante, le collectif a remis en question les définitions usuelles de la danse, rejetant les esthétiques du ballet et de la danse moderne au profit de la création collective et de l'improvisation. Les membres du groupe estimaient que tout le monde pouvait danser, et que tout mouvement pouvait être considéré comme de la danse.

En 1970, Mme Brown a pris part à la création d'une compagnie de danse improvisée, Grand Union. La même année, elle lançait sa propre troupe, la Trisha Brown Company.

Dans la première partie de sa carrière, Trisha Brown rejetait les conventions scéniques, se passant de musique, d'éclairages et de costumes. Elle se refusait aussi à créer des chorégraphies à contenu narratif, préférant jouer sur les formes géométriques produites par les corps en mouvement, et sur des gestes quotidiens comme l'action de marcher.

Mme Brown a souvent créé des œuvres adaptées au lieu (présentées en plein air ou en d'autres lieux inusités). Dans sa pièce Walking on the Wall (1971), les danseurs utilisaient un harnachement d'alpinistes pour défier la gravité en marchant sur un mur.

Les chorégraphies plus récentes de Trisha Brown sont toutes réglées sur de la musique classique. En 1996, elle a remanié un solo, You Can See Us, pour en faire un duo pour elle-même et l'icône du ballet Mikhaïl Barychnikov. Sa pièce Present Tense, qui comporte de la danse aérienne, a été créée à Cannes (France) en 2003.

Sites Web :

Trisha Brown Company (anglais seulement)

Pour en savoir plus :

Brown, Trisha, L’Atelier des chorégraphes [traduction française], Paris, Éditions Bougé, 1987.

Banes, Sally et al, Reinventing Dance in the 1960s: Everything was Possible, Madison, University of Wisconsin Press, 2003.

Aeschlimann, Roland, Trisha Brown: Dance and Art in Dialogue, 1961–2001, Andover (Mass.), Addison Gallery of American Art, 2002.