This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Merce Cunningham

chance / Merce Cunningham Dance Company / DanceForms computer technology

(1919-2009)

Merce Cunningham is one of the most influential and innovative choreographers of the twentieth century. He has created more than 200 choreographic works and many, such as Summerspace (1958), are in the repertoire of internationally celebrated companies, including the New York City Ballet, the Paris Opéra, Zurich Ballet, and Rambert Dance Company, among others.

Cunningham studied dance at the Cornish School (later renamed the Cornish College of the Arts) in Seattle. There he met the composer and musician, John Cage, who became his main artistic collaborator and life partner. Cunningham danced with Martha Graham's company from 1939 until 1945 before establishing the Merce Cunningham Dance Company in 1953. Along with Cage, Cunningham collaborated with other contemporaries, including Jaspar Johns, Andy Warhol, David Tudor, Frank Stella and Robert Rauschenberg.

Cunningham's work is defined by several notable elements. For instance, Cunningham is not interested in narrative and character development; his choreography investigates the formal elements of dance. Cunningham and Cage shared the belief that movement and music are equal. Accordingly, they created the choreography and music separately in their collaborations. Cunningham also embraced the elements of chance and indeterminacy to free his imagination from habitual movement. He used techniques such as filling in squares on charts or tossing coins to determine specific movement combinations as well as to decide on the order of dance phrases. The results were works such as Sixteen Dances for Soloist and Company of Three (1951) and Solo Suite in Space and Time (1953). Other notable features of Cunningham's work include his multi-focal use of the stage. He also does not privilege centrestage or orient his work toward the audience. Instead, in Cunningham's choreography, each dancer is his or her own centre. Similarly, Cunningham's works, including RainForest (1968), often involve dancers performing individual movement combinations simultaneously.

In the 1970s and 1980s, Cunningham received international acclaim for works such as Changing Steps (1975), Roadrunners (1979), and Inlet 2 (1983). In the 1990s, he was invited to Simon Fraser University in British Columbia to experiment with a computer software program now called DanceForms that allows users to manipulate animated figures. He has used this technology to create all of his choreographic works since Trackers (1991) and Beach Birds (1991). More recent choreographic works include BIPED (1999), Fluid Canvas (2002), Split Sides (2003) and Views on Stage (2004).

Merce Cunningham died on July 26, 2009 at the age of 90. He had announced a legacy plan six weeks before that involved a two-year world tour by the Merce Cunningham Dance Company. At the end of that period, the company will wind down, and its assets will be transferred to the nonprofit Merce Cunningham Trust, entrusted with preserving his choreography.

Websites:

Merce Cunningham Dance Company

PBS American Masters - Merce Cunningham

New York Times

Learn more:

Cunningham, Merce. Changes/Notes on Choreography. Ed. Frances Starr. New York: Something Else Press, 1968.

Vaughan, David. Merce Cunningham: 50 Years. New York: Aperture, 1997.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Merce Cunningham

hasard / Merce Cunningham Dance Company / technologie informatique DanceForms

(1919-2009)

Merce Cunningham est l'un des chorégraphes les plus influents et novateurs du XXe siècle. On lui doit plus de 200 œuvres chorégraphiques dont plusieurs, comme Summerspace (1958), figurent au répertoire de compagnies connues dans le monde entier, tels le New York City Ballet, l'Opéra de Paris, le Ballet de Zurich et la Rambert Dance Company, pour ne citer que celles-là.

M. Cunningham a étudié la danse à la Cornish School (aujourd'hui le Cornish College of the Arts) à Seattle. C'est là qu'il a rencontré le compositeur et musicien John Cage, qui allait devenir son principal collaborateur artistique et son compagnon de vie. Avant de créer sa propre structure, la Merce Cunningham Dance Company en 1953, il a dansé pour la compagnie de Martha Graham de 1939 à 1945. Avec Cage, il a collaboré avec d'autres contemporains, notamment Jaspar Johns, Andy Warhol, David Tudor, Frank Stella et Robert Rauschenberg.

Plusieurs éléments notables caractérisent l'œuvre de Merce Cunningham. Par exemple, il n'est nullement intéressé par un récit ou le développement de personnages. Sa chorégraphie explore les éléments formels de la danse. Il partageait avec Cage la conviction que le mouvement et la musique jouent un rôle équivalent. Par conséquent, dans les pièces qu'ils ont réalisées en collaboration, ils créaient la chorégraphie et la musique séparément. M. Cunningham a également introduit les éléments du hasard et de l'aléatoire pour libérer son imagination du mouvement habituel. Il a eu recours à des techniques comme celle de noircir des cases dans un graphique ou de jouer à pile ou face pour déterminer les combinaisons de mouvements et décider de l'ordre des séquences gestuelles. Il en a résulté des créations comme Seize danses pour soliste et compagnie de trois (1951) et Solo Suite in Space and Time (1953). Dans l'œuvre de Merce Cunningham, tous les points de l'espace ont la même valeur ; il ne privilégie pas le centre de la scène, pas plus qu'il n'oriente la pièce vers le spectateur. Dans ses chorégraphies, chaque danseur est un centre mobile. Souvent aussi, dans des créations comme RainForest (1968), les danseurs interprètent simultanément leur propre partition de mouvements individuelle.

Dans les années 1970 et 1980, Merce Cunningham a été acclamé sur les grandes scènes du monde pour des œuvres comme Changing Steps (1975), Roadrunners (1979) et Inlet 2 (1983). Dans les années 1990, il a été invité à l'Université Simon Fraser en Colombie-Britannique pour mettre à l'essai un logiciel informatique maintenant intitulé DanceForms , permettant aux utilisateurs de manipuler des personnages animés. Il a eu recours à cette technologie pour créer toutes ses œuvres chorégraphiques depuis Trackers (1991) et Beach Birds (1991). Parmi ses dernières chorégraphies, citons BIPED (1999), Fluid Canvas (2002), Split Sides (2003) et Views on Stage (2004).

Merce Cunningham est décédé le 26 juillet, 2009. Il était de 90. Cunningham de la vie artistique et la vision ont été l'objet de quatre oeuvres et trois grandes expositions et ses oeuvres ont été présentées par les groupes,y compris le Ballet de l'Opéra de Paris, New York City Ballet, et de Londres Rambert Dance Company.

Sites Web :

Merce Cunningham Dance Company (anglais seulement)

PBS American Masters - Merce Cunningham (anglais seulement)

Pour en savoir plus :

Cunningham, Merce, Changes/Notes on Choreography, sous la direction de Frances Starr, New-York, Something Else Press, 1968.

Vaughan, David, Merce Cunningham, un demi-siècle de danse, traduction française de Denise Luccioni, Paris, Plume, 1997.

Cunningham, Merce, Le Danseur et la danse, entretiens avec Jacqueline Lesschaeve, Paris, Belfond, 1988.