This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

This video is only available in French.
Read the transcript of this interview.


Jérôme  Bel

choreographer / experimental dance

(1964- )

Jérôme Bel is an experimental choreographer with a reputation for being controversial. The Paris-based artist provokes his audiences with witty, cerebral presentations that often break down the traditional barrier between performer and audience, and that pose questions about virtuosity and the nature of dance.

Born in the south of France, Bel studied at the Centre National de Danse Contemporaine in Angers. From 1985 to 1991, he worked as a dancer in France and Italy, performing for choreographers such as Angelin Preljocaj, Joëlle Bouvier, Régis Obadia, Daniel Larrieu and Caterina Sagna. In 1992, after assisting Philippe De couflé with the direction of the opening ceremony for the XVIth Winter Olympics in Albertville, France, Bel began to prepare himself to work as a choreographer by reading philosophy and dance history.

Bel's first choreographic work was nom donné par l'auteur (1994). Other works include the self-titled Jérôme Bel (1995), which contains onstage nudity and urination, and Véronique Doisneau (2004), created for the prestigious Paris Opera Ballet.

His 90-minute The show must go on (2001) premiered to a wildly mixed reception in Paris at the Théâtre de la Ville, with some audience members singing along to the catchy tunes that comprise the score (which includes David Bowie, Edith Piaf, Queen and Paul Simon) and others walking out and demanding a refund. Typical of his minimalist work, it contains long moments where little happens and focuses on the ordinary rather than the virtuosic.

When The show must go on was presented in New York in 2005, it earned Bel a Bessie (a New York Dance and Performance Award) in the Choreographer/Creator category.

Learn more:

Siegmund, Gerald. “In the Realm of Signs: Jérôme Bel”. ballett international/tanz aktuell. April 1998: 34-37.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Jérôme  Bel

chorégraphe / danse expérimentale

(1964- )

Jérôme Bel est un chorégraphe d'avant-garde souvent sujet à controverse. Établi à Paris, il provoque ses auditoires avec des présentations cérébrales et pleines d'esprit qui abattent fréquemment les barrières traditionnelles entre l'interprète et le public, et soulèvent des questions sur la virtuosité et la nature de la danse.

Né dans le sud de la France, il a étudié au Centre National de Danse Contemporaine d'Angers. De 1985 à 1991, il a dansé en France et en Italie, pour des chorégraphes comme Angelin Preljocaj, Joëlle Bouvier, Régis Obadia, Daniel Larrieu et Caterina Sagna. En 1992, après avoir secondé Philippe Decouflé à la tête des cérémonies d'ouverture des XVI es Jeux olympiques d'hiver d'Albertville (France), il a entrepris de se tourner vers la chorégraphie, en commençant par se documenter sur la philosophie et l'histoire de la danse.

La première chorégraphie de Jérôme Bel s'intitulait nom donné par l'auteur (1994). Parmi ses pièces ultérieures, on peut citer Jérôme Bel (1995), qui inclut des scènes de nudité et d'urination, et Véronique Doisneau (2004), créée pour le prestigieux Ballet de l'Opéra de Paris.

La première de sa pièce de 90 minutes The show must go on (2001), au Théâtre de la Ville de Paris, a suscité des réactions diamétralement opposées, une partie du public reprenant en chœur les refrains accrocheurs de la trame musicale (regroupant des chansons de David Bowie, Edith Piaf, Queen et Paul Simon) tandis que les autres quittaient la salle avant la fin et exigeaient d'être remboursés. Représentative de son art minimal, l'œuvre comporte de longs moments où il ne se passe presque rien, et met l'accent sur l'ordinaire plutôt que sur la virtuosité.

Présenté à New York en 2005, The show must go on a valu à Jérôme Bel un prix Bessie (New York Dance and Performance Award) dans la catégorie « chorégraphe/créateur ».

Pour en savoir plus :

Siegmund, Gerald, « In the Realm of Signs: Jérôme Bel », ballett international/tanz aktuell, avril 1998, p. 34 à 37. Guisgand, Philippe, « Jérôme Bel ou les figures du retrait », Bel/Lander/Robbins, Opéra National de Paris, septembre 2004, p. 64 à 69.