This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Kurt Jooss

choreography / Folkwang Tanztheater / The Green Table

(1901-1979)

Kurt Jooss was an important German modern dancer and choreographer. He began his career in the 1920s, dancing lead roles in the choreography of Rudolf von Laban. Jooss is noted for establishing several dance companies, including, most notably, the Folkwang Tanztheater in Essen.

In 1933, the Nazis ordered Jooss to dismiss all the Jewish people associated with his company. He refused. As a result, he and many of his dancers had to flee Germany. They found refuge in Holland before resettling in England, where Jooss opened a school with the dancer Sigurd Leeder. After the end of World War II, Jooss returned to Essen where he remained until he retired in 1968. One of his students from this period was the choreographer Pina Bausch.

Jooss disliked plot-less dances and preferred themes that addressed moral issues. His most important choreographic work, The Green Table (1932), won first prize at an international competition for new choreography in Paris in 1932. It was a powerful anti-war statement, made just a year before Adolf Hitler became the chancellor of Germany. It is still performed by dance companies around the world. Another work, Pandora (1944), contained disturbing images of human disaster and tragedy, and was later interpreted as foretelling the dropping of the atom bombs on Japan a year later.

Learn more:

Adamson, Andy and Clare Lidbury, eds. Kurt Jooss. Birmingham: University of Birmingham Press, 1994.

Lidbury, Clare, ed. Kurt Jooss: Big City. London: Dance Books, 2000.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Kurt Jooss

chorégraphie / Folkwang Tanztheater / The Green Table

(1901-1979)

Le danseur et chorégraphe Kurt Jooss est une figure importante de la danse moderne allemande. Il a entrepris sa carrière dans les années 1920, dansant des premiers rôles dans des chorégraphies de Rudolf von Laban. Jooss est célèbre, notamment, pour avoir établi plusieurs compagnies de danse, en particulier le Folkwang Tanztheater à Essen.

En 1933, les nazis ont ordonné à Jooss de congédier tous les Juifs associés de près ou de loin à sa compagnie. Il a refusé, ce qui l'a obligé à fuir l'Allemagne avec bon nombre de ses danseurs. Ils ont trouvé refuge en Hollande avant de se transporter à Londres, où Jooss a ouvert une école avec le danseur Sigurd Leeder. Au terme de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Jooss est rentré à Essen, où il est resté jusqu'à sa retraite en 1968. La chorégraphe Pina Bausch a été l'une de ses élèves à cette époque.

Jooss n'aimait pas les danses dépourvues de trame narrative, et privilégiait les thèmes traitant de problèmes moraux. Sa pièce la plus importante, La Table verte (1932), a remporté le premier prix dans le cadre d'un concours international de chorégraphie à Paris en 1932. Joos a chorégraphié cette saisissante prise de position anti-guerre tout juste un an avant qu'Adolf Hitler ne devienne chancelier d'Allemagne, et elle figure toujours au répertoire de plusieurs compagnies de danse partout dans le monde. Une autre de ses créations, Pandore (1944), contenait des images troublantes de dégradation humaine et de tragédie, qui ont été interprétées plus tard comme une prémonition du largage de bombes atomiques sur le Japon l'année suivante.

Pour en savoir plus :

Adamson, Andy, Clare Lidbury et al, Kurt Jooss, Birmingham, University of Birmingham Press, 1994.

Lidbury, Clare et al, Kurt Jooss: Big City, Londres, Dance Books, 2000.