This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

José Limón

choreography / The José Limón Dance Foundation / The Moor’s Pavane

(1908-1972)

José Limón was born in Mexico, but spent his dance career in the United States. He planned to become a painter, but after seeing the German dancer Harald Kreutzberg perform, he decided to dedicate his life to dance.

Limón studied with Doris Humphrey and Charles Weidman, and was a dancer in their company from 1930 until 1940. After fighting in World War II, Limón established his own dance company, the Limón Dance Company, in 1946. He asked Humphrey to serve as its artistic director. The Moor's Pavane (1949) was arguably Limón's most important choreographic work.

Limón taught at The Juilliard School in New York beginning in 1951. His company was the first modern dance troupe invited by the United States government to partake in the State Department's Cultural Exchange Program in 1954. As a result, Limón and his dancers toured to South and Central America, Europe, Asia and Australia.

Several of the 74 works Limón choreographed during his lifetime remain in the repertoires of important dance companies in North America and Europe, including the National Ballet of Canada.

Websites:

Limón Dance Company, Institute and Foundation

Learn more:

Limón, José. José Limón: An Unfinished Memoir. Ed. Lynn Garafola. Middletown, Conn.: Wesleyan University Press; Hanover, NH: University Press of New England, 1999.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

José Limón

chorégraphie / The José Limón Dance Foundation / The Moor’s Pavane

(1908-1972)

José Limón est né au Mexique, mais sa carrière en danse s'est déroulée aux États-Unis. Il se destinait plutôt à la peinture, mais il a finalement décidé de se consacrer à la danse après avoir vu le danseur allemand Harald Kreutzberg se produire sur scène.

Limón a étudié auprès de Doris Humphrey et Charles Weidman, et il a dansé au sein de leur compagnie de 1930 à 1940. Après avoir combattu dans la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Limón a mis sur pied sa propre compagnie de danse, la Limón Dance Company, en 1946, et en a confié la direction artistique à Humphrey. The Moor's Pavane (1949) peut être considérée comme l'œuvre chorégraphique la plus importante de Limón.

Limón a enseigné à la Juilliard School à New York à compter de 1951. En 1954, sa compagnie est devenue la première troupe de danse moderne invitée par le gouvernement des États-Unis à participer au programme d'échanges culturels du Département d'État. Limón et ses danseurs ont ainsi eu la chance de tourner en Amériques centrale et du Sud, en Europe, en Asie et en Australie.

Plusieurs des soixante-quatorze pièces que Limón a chorégraphiées au cours de son existence sont toujours inscrites au répertoire de compagnies de danse nord-américaines et européennes de premier plan, incluant le Ballet national du Canada.

Sites Web :

Limón Dance Company, Institute and Foundation (ang

Pour en savoir plus :

Collectif, Nouvelles de danse 24 – Dossier : l’héritage Humphrey Limón, Bruxelles, Contredanse, 1995. Limón, José, José Limón: An Unfinished Memoir, Ed. Lynn Garafola, Middletown (Conn.), Wesleyan University Press ; Hanover (NH), University Press of New England, 1999.