This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Steve Paxton

contact improvisation / Judson Dance Theater / Grand Union

(1939- )

Steve Paxton the inventor of contact improvisation (or “contact improv”), a form of dance characterized by two or more people moving together in almost constant and spontaneous contact. Since his initial experimentation with the form, Paxton has also investigated solo improvisations and has created set choreography.

Paxton was a member of José Limón's company in 1960 and danced for Merce Cunningham from 1961 until 1964. He began his association with other artists of the post-modern movement in New York during the 1960s. In 1962, he became a charter member of the avant-garde dance collective, Judson Dance Theater. He also belonged to the collective Grand Union.

Some of his important early works include Proxy (1961), Physical Things (1966) and Satisfyin'Lover (1967). Like his post-modern contemporaries, Paxton's choreography questioned the established parameters of dance and used movements like walking and running, which had not usually been considered part of dance vocabulary. This lexicon of movements is danceable by most able-bodied people unlike more exclusionary forms of dance, including ballet, that require proficiency in technical feats only an elite few are capable of executing.

In the 1970s and 1980s, Paxton worked with the group Freelance Dance. In the 1980s, Paxton performed in public infrequently and usually only appeared in improvised solos. More recently, he has worked with blind and disabled dancers. He also continues to collaborate in works such as Long and Dream (1994) with Trisha Brown and Night Stand (2002) with dancer Lisa Nelson and musician Robert Ashley. Paxton remains an active participant in improvisational performances and solos. He has appeared as part of the improvisation initiative Crash Landing; worked with dance artist Katy Duck; and collaborated with The Lisbon Group. Two of Paxton's works, Flat (1964) and Satisfying Lover were performed as part of the White Oak Dance Project's PASTforward tour in 2000-2001.

Paxton continues to lecture, perform, choreograph and teach around the world.

Learn more:

Novack, Cynthia J. Sharing the Dance: Contact Improvisation and American Culture. Madison, Wisconsin: The University of Wisconsin Press, 1990.

Paxton, Steve. “Drafting Interior Techniques.” Taken by Surprise: A Dance Improvisation Reader. Eds., Albright, Ann Cooper, and David Gere. Middletown, Conn.: Wesleyan University Press, 2003: 175-184.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Steve Paxton

improvisation contact / Judson Dance Theater / Grand Union

(1939- )

Steve Paxton est l'inventeur de l' improvisation contact, forme de danse caractérisée par la présence de plusieurs personnes se déplaçant ensemble et se transférant les appuis de l'un à l'autre par des contacts presque constants et spontanés. Depuis qu'il a expérimenté pour la première fois ce mode d'expression, il a également travaillé sur des improvisations en solo et créé des chorégraphies fixes.

M. Paxton a été membre de la compagnie José Limón en 1960 et il a dansé pour Merce Cunningham de 1961 à 1964. C'est également au cours des années 1960 qu'il a commencé à s'associer à d'autres artistes du mouvement postmoderne à New‑York. En 1962, il est devenu membre fondateur du collectif Avant-garde Dance, au Judson Dance Theater. Il a également participé au collectif Grand Union.

Parmi les pièces importantes de ses débuts, citons Proxy (1961), Physical Things (1966) et Satisfying Lover (1967). Comme ses contemporains de la danse postmoderne, il remet en question dans ses chorégraphies les paramètres établis de la danse et a recours à des mouvements comme la marche et la course, qui ne faisaient pas partie jusque‑là du vocabulaire de cet art. Ses mouvements peuvent être dansés par la plupart des personnes dotées d'un corps sain, à la différence des formes de danse plus exclusives, notamment le ballet, qui nécessitent des prouesses techniques que seule une élite est capable d'exécuter.

Dans les années 1970 et 1980, il a travaillé avec le groupe Freelance Dance. Dans les années 1980, il s'est fait plus rare sur scène, n'apparaissant généralement que dans des solos improvisés. Récemment, il a travaillé avec des danseurs aveugles et handicapés. Il poursuit également des collaborations et a ainsi réalisé des œuvres comme Long and Dream (1994) avec Trisha Brown et Night Stand (2002) avec la danseuse Lisa Nelson et le musicien Robert Ashley. M. Paxton continue de participer activement à des spectacles d'improvisation et à des chorégraphies solo. Il a fait partie de la distribution du projet d'improvisation Crash Landing ; il a travaillé avec l'artiste de la danse Katy Duck ; et il a collaboré avec le Lisbon Group. Deux des œuvres de Paxton, Flat (1964) and Satisfying Lover, ont été présentées dans le cadre de la tournée PASTforward du White Oak Dance Project en 2000/2001.

Steve Paxton continue à donner des conférences, à se produire, à réaliser des chorégraphies et à enseigner dans différentes régions du monde./p>

Pour en savoir plus :

Novack, Cynthia J. Sharing the Dance: Contact Improvisation and American Culture, Madison, Wisconsin, The University of Wisconsin Press, 1990.

Paxton, Steve, « Drafting Interior Techniques », Taken by Surprise: A Dance Improvisation Reader, sous la direction de Albright, Ann

Coopert, et David Gere. Middletown, Conn., Wesleyan University Press, 2003, p. 175-184.

Banes, Sally, Terpsichore en baskets, Post-modern dance, traduction française de Denise Luccioni, Paris, Chiron / Centre national de la danse, 2002.