This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Ruth St. Denis

vaudeville / Denishawn / music visualizations

(1879-1968)

Unlike American modern dance pioneers Loie Fuller and Isadora Duncan, who spent most of their careers in Europe, Ruth St. Denis found success in her own country. St. Denis, whose birth name was Ruth Dennis, spent the 1890s as a vaudeville dancer and a member of David Belasco's theatre company.

In 1904, an ad for Egyptian Deities cigarettes allegedly inspired her to stage a concert of Eastern-themed works, including Radha, The Incense and The Cobras. These “exotic” dances were so successful that she toured the United States and Europe.

In 1914, St. Denis married one of her students, Ted Shawn. Soon afterwards, they established Denishawn, a company and school in Los Angeles. In the mid-1920s, Denishawn toured the Indo-Pacific region. Important modern dance innovators Martha Graham, Doris Humphrey and Charles Weidman were in the Denishawn company.

Shawn and St. Denis disagreed over the best direction for their troupe. Whereas Shawn understood the financial importance of the vaudeville circuit, St. Denis saw herself as a serious concert artist. She wished to concentrate on her “music visualizations”, dances that translated the tempo, rhythm and emotional content of music into movement. In 1929, the couple separated and disbanded their company, although they never officially divorced.

The 1930s were financially difficult for St. Denis, but she immersed herself in her quest to create dances on spiritual themes. She gave her last public performance in 1966 at age 87.

Learn more:

St. Denis, Ruth. Wisdom Comes Dancing. Ed. Kamae A. Miller. Seattle, WA: PeaceWorks, 1997.

---. An Unfinished Life. [1939] Brooklyn, NY: Dance Horizons, 1969.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Ruth St. Denis

vaudeville / Denishawn / « visualisations musicales »

(1879-1968)

Contrairement à Loïe Fuller et Isadora Duncan, pionnières de la danse moderne américaine qui ont mené l'essentiel de leurs carrières respectives en Europe, Ruth Saint-Denis a connu le succès dans son propre pays. Née Ruth Dennis, elle a débuté comme danseuse de vaudeville et membre de la compagnie de théâtre de David Belasco dans les années 1890.

En 1904, une publicité pour la marque de cigarettes Egyptian Deities lui aurait inspiré, selon la légende, un premier concert de danses d'inspiration orientale incluant Radha, The Incense et The Cobras. Ces danses « exotiques » ont récolté un tel succès qu'elle les a présenté en tournée aux États-Unis et en Europe.

En 1914, Saint-Denis a épousé l'un de ses élèves, Ted Shawn. Peu après, ils ont fondé Denishawn, à la fois compagnie et école, à Los Angeles. Au milieu des années 1920, Denishawn a tourné dans la région de l'Océan indien et du Pacifique. De grands innovateurs de la danse moderne comme Martha Graham, Doris Humphrey et Charles Weidman ont été membres de la compagnie Denishawn.

Shawn et Saint-Denis ne s'entendait pas sur l'orientation à donner à leur troupe. Alors que Shawn était sensible aux avantages monétaires qu'offrait le circuit du vaudeville, Saint-Denis se considérait plutôt comme une artiste de concert sérieuse. Elle souhaitait se consacrer à ses « visualisations musicales », dans lesquelles le mouvement traduisait le tempo, le rythme et le contenu émotif de la musique. En 1929, le couple s'est séparé et a démantelé sa compagnie, bien qu'il n'ait jamais officiellement divorcé.

Aux prises avec de graves difficultés financières dans les années 1930, Saint-Denis s'est néanmoins plongée dans sa quête d'un art de la danse à contenu spirituel. Elle a donné sa dernière prestation publique en 1966, à quatre-vingt-sept ans.

Pour en savoir plus :

St. Denis, Ruth, Wisdom Comes Dancing, Ed. Kamae A. Miller, Seattle (WA), PeaceWorks, 1997.

---, An Unfinished Life [1939], Brooklyn (NY), Dance Horizons, 1969.