This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Charles Weidman

choreography / Humphrey-Weidman / kinetic pantomime

(1901-1975)

Charles Weidman was an early proponent of modern dance in the United States. In 1920, he received a scholarship to spend the summer studying with Ruth St. Denis and Ted Shawn at the couple's Denishawn school in Los Angeles. Before the session had ended, Weidman was hired as a dancer for the Denishawn company. After Weidman left Denishawn in 1928, he founded the Humphrey-Weidman company with Doris Humphrey and Pauline Lawrence.

Weidman eventually developed his own choreographic style, which became known as “kinetic pantomime”. His works were often populated with characters from his own family. Their stories and dominant movement traits were conveyed through kinetic pantomime in works such as On My Mother's Side (1940), as well as And Daddy Was a Fireman (1943). Familiar character types, along with the humour Weidman incorporated into his choreography, made his work accessible to general audiences.

In the 1940s, Weidman created his own group, the Charles Weidman Theatre Dance Company, which toured until its demise in 1951. In 1960, he co-founded the Expression of Two Arts Theater in New York with sculptor Mikhail Santaro.

Websites:

Charles Weidman Archives

Learn more:

Rogosin, Elinor. The Dance Makers. New York: 1980.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Charles Weidman

chorégraphie / Humphrey-Weidman / pantomime cinétique

(1901-1975)

Charles Weidman a été l'un des principaux initiateurs de la danse moderne aux États-Unis. Dans les années 1920, il a obtenu une bourse pour étudier durant l'été auprès de Ruth Saint-Denis et Ted Shawn, à l'école Denishawn que le couple avait fondée à Los Angeles. Weidman n'avait pas terminé son stage qu'il était déjà engagé comme danseur au sein de la compagnie Denishawn. En 1928, il a quitté Denishawn pour fonder la compagnie Humphrey-Weidman avec Doris Humphrey et Pauline Lawrence.

Weidman a par la suite développé son propre style chorégraphique, connu sous le nom de « pantomime cinétique ». Ses œuvres mettaient souvent en scène des personnages inspirés de son entourage. Leurs histoires et les traits dominants de leurs mouvements s'exprimaient par la pantomime cinétique dans des pièces comme On My Mother's Side (1940) et And Daddy Was a Fireman (1943). Ces personnages familiers, de même que l'humour qu'il insufflait à ses chorégraphies, rendaient son art accessible à un vaste public.

Dans les années 1940, Weidman a formé son propre groupe, la Charles Weidman Theatre Dance Company, qui a tourné jusqu'à son démantèlement en 1951. En 1960, il a cofondé l'Expression of Two Arts Theater à New York avec le sculpteur Mikhail Santaro.

Sites Web :

Charles Weidman Archives (anglais seulement)

Pour en savoir plus :

Rogosin, Elinor, The Dance Makers, New York, 1980.