This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Lar Lubovitch

Lar Lubovitch Dance Company / ballet choreogrpaher / contemporary dance / ice-dancing / musical theater

(1943- )

One of America's most versatile, popular and widely-seen choreographers, Lubovitch founded the Lar Lubovitch Dance Company in 1968 and has choreographed more than 100 dances for the company. Based in New York City, the company has performed in virtually all 50 American states as well as in more than 30 foreign countries. Currently the company is focusing on creating dances in New York and teaching throughout the world.

Born in Chicago, Lubovitch was educated at the University of Iowa and the Juilliard School in New York, where his teachers included Antony Tudor, José Limón, Anna Sokolow, and Martha Graham. He danced in numerous modern, ballet, jazz and ethnic companies before forming his own company. Lubovitch's work is renowned for its musicality, rhapsodic style, and sophisticated formal structures. His radiant, highly technical choreography and deeply humanistic voice have been acclaimed throughout the world.

During 2004-05, Lubovitch created three new dances: Love Stories, a collaboration with Hubbard Street Dance Chicago; Do You Be, created in honour of Meredith Monk, and Elemental Brubeck, a collaboration with San Francisco Ballet. During 2005-06, the Lubovitch company collaborated with the Limón Dance Company in the creation of Recordare, and in November 2005, the company's annual New York City season featured the American premiere of Elemental Brubeck. In the spring of 2006, Lubovitch created another new dance with his company, to premiere later in the year.

The Lubovitch company's world premieres include Pentimento (2004), My Funny Valentine (2001), and Men's Stories (2000). Another recent major project was the creation of a full-evening-length (3-act) ballet based on Othello. To create such grand dance, the company formed an unprecedented collaboration with ABT and San Francisco Ballet. Othello was broadcast nationwide on PBS's "Great Performances" and nominated for an Emmy Award. Works created by Lubovitch for his company are also included in the repertoires of companies throughout the world, including the New York City Ballet, American Ballet Theatre, Paris Opera Ballet, Royal Danish Ballet, Stuttgart Ballet, Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater, Baryshnikov's White Oak Dance Project and Netherlands Dans Theater.

In addition to his work for stage, screen and television, Lar Lubovitch has also made his mark on Broadway, creating choreography and musical staging for Into the Woods (1987, Tony Award nomination), The Red Shoes (1993, winner of Astaire Award from the Theater Development Fund), The King and I (1996), and The Hunchback of Notre Dame in Berlin. In 2004, he was honoured with the Elan Award for his outstanding choreography. Lar Lubovitch has also made notable contributions to the advancement of choreography in the field of ice-dancing, creating dances for Olympic gold medalists John Curry, Peggy Fleming, and Dorothy Hamill, The Planets for Olympic silver medallists Isabelle and Paul Duchesnay, andl a full-length ice-dancing version of The Sleeping Beauty.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Lar Lubovitch

La Lar Lubovitch Dance Company/chorégraphe de ballet/danse contemporaine/danse sur glace/théâtre musical

(1943- )

Chorégraphe parmi les plus polyvalents, les plus estimés et jouissant de la visibilité la plus étendue en Amérique, Lar Lubovitch fonde sa propre compagnie de danse en 1968 et élaborera pour elle plus de 100 œuvres. Établie à New York, la troupe se produit pratiquement dans chacun des 50 États américains et dans plus de 30 pays. Elle se consacre actuellement à la création de spectacles de danse à New York et à l'enseignement partout dans le monde.

Né à Chicago, M. Lubovitch fait ses études à l'Université de l'Iowa et à l'École Juilliard de New York, où il reçoit l'enseignement de divers professeurs, dont Antony Tudor, José Limón, Anna Sokolow et Martha Graham. Avant de fonder sa propre troupe, il travaille pour diverses compagnies de ballet et de danse moderne, jazz et ethnique. Ses œuvres sont reconnues pour leur musicalité, leur style rhapsodique et leurs structures formelles sophistiquées. Ses chorégraphies éclatantes d'une technicité élevée et son ton profondément humaniste sont louangés dans le monde entier.

Durant la saison 2004‑2005, M. Lubovitch élabore trois nouvelles danses : Love Storie, en collaboration avec la compagnie Hubbard Street Dance Chicago; Do You Be, créée en l'honneur de Meredith Monk; et Elemental Brubeck, réalisée en partenariat avec le San Francisco Ballet. Au cours de la saison 2005‑2006, la troupe s'associe à la compagnie Limón Dance pour donner vie à Recordare et, en novembre 2005, elle présente la première américaine d' Elemental Brubeck dans le cadre de sa saison new‑yorkaise annuelle. Au cours du printemps 2006, M. Lubovitch et sa compagnie mettent au point une nouvelle danse dont la première aura lieu plus tard cette année.

Au rang des œuvres présentées en première mondiale par la Lar Lubovitch Dance Company, notons Pentimento (2004), My Funny Valentine (2001) et Men's Stories (2000). La troupe a réalisé récemment un autre projet d'envergure en créant un ballet inspiré d' Othello qui dure une soirée complète. Pour mettre sur pied une production aussi ambitieuse, la compagnie établira un partenariat sans précédent avec l'American Ballet Theatre et le San Francisco Ballet. Othello sera ainsi diffusée à l'échelle nationale dans le cadre de la série Great Performances de la chaîne PBS et mise en nomination pour un prix Emmy. Les œuvres créées par M. Lubovitch pour sa troupe font désormais partie du répertoire de compagnies du monde entier, y compris le New York City Ballet, l'American Ballet Theatre, le Ballet de l'Opéra de Paris, le Ballet royal du Danemark, le Stuttgart Ballet, l'Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater, le White Oak Dance Project, fondé par Mikhaïl Barychnikov, et le Netherlands Dans Theater.

En plus de travailler pour la scène ainsi que les petit et grand écrans, Lar Lubovitch se distingue à Broadway, créant les chorégraphies et la mise en scène pour Into the Woods (1987; mise en nomination pour un prix Tony), The Red Shoes (1993; prix Astaire du Theater Development Fund), The King and I (1996) et The Hunchback of Notre Dame à Berlin. En 2004, il reçoit le prix Elan pour son travail chorégraphique exceptionnel. En outre, l'artiste contribue considérablement à l'avancement de la chorégraphie en danse sur glace, créant des numéros pour les médaillés d'or olympiques John Curry, Peggy Fleming et Dorothy Hamill, The Planets pour les médaillés d'argent olympiques Isabelle et Paul Duchesnay, de même qu'une version pleine longueur de La Belle au bois dormant, également à l'intention de danseurs sur glace.