This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Alwin  Nikolais

Nikolais Dance Theater / Nikolais-Louis Foundation for Dance

(1910-1993)

Alwin Nikolais was an innovative American choreographer who challenged traditional ideas about the role of the dancer. In the 1930s, he directed the Hartford Parks Marionette Theatre in Connecticut. He later studied with Hanya Holm and performed in her company. In 1948, Nikolais was invited to found a dance school at the Henry Street Playhouse in New York. He also started his own dance company, the Nikolais Dance Theater. One of the company's dancers, Murray Louis, became closely identified with the company and collaborated with Nikolais for over forty years.

Nikolais' artistic mandate was for meaning to be conveyed strictly through movement. He characterized his stage presentations as “decentralizing” the dancer, so that humans were only one of the theatrical elements on stage. Consequently, during the 1950s, his choreography became increasingly abstract. In Masks, Props and Mobiles (1953), for instance, his dancers wore large costumes that obscured the shapes of their bodies. In works like Prism (1956), he used the dancers' bodies as screens onto which he projected abstract moving images.

Multi-talented, Nikolais created all aspects of his productions, from choreography to costume design, and from lighting to musical composition. (Nikolais embraced electronic music and experimented with the possibilities of the Moog synthesizer in the 1960s.) By the time of his death in 1993, he had created over 100 choreographic productions. Nikolais's choreography was particularly popular with audiences in Paris. In the 1970s, he was invited to help organize the Centre Nationale de Danse Contemporain in Angers. In 1980, his work Schema premiered at the Paris Opéra.

Twenty years after launching his school, Nikolais moved his organization to midtown Manhattan and renamed it the Nikolais-Louis Foundation for Dance. The Foundation was an umbrella for the Nikolais Dance Theater, The Murray Louis Dance Company, The School and Chimerafilm (an audio-visual component). After Nikolais died, the Foundation consolidated and later phased out its dance companies. The Nikolais-Louis Foundation for Dance currently collaborates with the Ririe-Woodbury Dance Company to perform the choreography of Nikolais and Louis. The School has been reinvented as a mobile organization that travels around the United States offering workshops to students who do not live in New York City.

Websites:

Nikolais-Louis Foundation for Dance, Inc.

Learn more:

Nikolais, Alwin. Nik, A Documentary. Ed. Marica B. Siegel. New York: Dance Perspectives Foundation, 1971.

Pedroni, Francesca. Alwin Nikolais. Palermo: L’Epos, 2000.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Alwin  Nikolais

Nikolais Dance Theater / Nikolais-Louis Foundation for Dance

(1910-1993)

Alwin Nikolais était un chorégraphe américain révolutionnaire qui a remis en question les conceptions traditionnelles du rôle du danseur. Dans les années 1930, il a dirigé le Hartford Parks Marionette Theatre dans le Connecticut. Plus tard, il a étudié auprès de Hanya Holm et s'est produit avec sa compagnie. En 1948, il a été invité à fonder une école de danse à la Henry Street Playhouse à New York. Il a aussi formé sa propre compagnie, le Nikolais Dance Theater. L'un de ses danseurs, Murray Louis, allait devenir une figure emblématique de la compagnie et collaborer avec Nikolais pendant plus de quarante ans.

L'art de Nikolais privilégiait le mouvement comme véhicule exclusif du sens. Ses présentations scéniques se distinguaient par la « décentralisation » du danseur, le facteur humain étant ainsi réduit à un élément théâtral parmi d'autres. C'est ainsi que dans les années 1950, son art chorégraphique s'est fait de plus en plus abstrait. Dans Masks, Props and Mobiles (1953), par exemple, ses danseurs portaient d'amples costumes qui occultaient leurs silhouettes. Dans Prism (1956), il utilisait les corps des danseurs comme des écrans sur lesquels étaient projetées des images abstraites animées.

Artiste aux multiples talents, Nikolais créait tous les aspects de ses productions, de la chorégraphie aux costumes en passant par les éclairages et la composition musicale (adepte de la musique électronique, il a été l'un des pionniers du synthétiseur Moog dans les années 1960). À sa mort, en 1993, il avait créé au-delà de 100 chorégraphies. Particulièrement apprécié des auditoires parisiens, il a été invité dans les années 1970 à contribuer à la mise sur pied du Centre National de Danse Contemporaine à Angers. En 1980, sa pièce Schema a été créée à l' Opéra de Paris .

Vingt ans après avoir lancé son école, Nikolais a déménagé son organisation au cœur de Manhattan et l'a rebaptisée la Nikolais-Louis Foundation for Dance. La Fondation chapeautait le Nikolais Dance Theater, la Murray Louis Dance Company, l'école et Chimerafilm (un volet audiovisuel). Après la mort de Nikolais, la Fondation a fusionné ses compagnies de danse avant de les supprimer progressivement. La Nikolais-Louis Foundation for Dance collabore maintenant avec la Ririe-Woodbury Dance Company pour présenter les chorégraphies de Nikolais et de Murray Louis. L'école a été redéfinie pour devenir une organisation mobile, qui sillonne les États-Unis pour offrir des ateliers aux étudiants qui ne vivent pas à New York.

Sites Web :

Nikolais-Louis Foundation for Dance, Inc. (anglais seulement)

Pour en savoir plus :

Nikolais, Alwin, Nik, A Documentary, sous la direction de Marica B. Siegel, New York, Dance Perspectives Foundation, 1971.

Pedroni, Francesca, Alwin Nikolais, (texte en italien), Palerme, L'Epos, 2000.

Collectif, « Alwin Nikolais », Les Saisons de la danse, n o 247, juin 1993.