This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Rudolf Nureyev

star status / guest artist / choreography

(1938-1993)

Rudolf Nureyev was one of the great dancers of the 20th century. He was noted for his dramatic stage presence, passion and sensuality. His talent helped to renew audiences'interest in male dancers and inspired boys to study ballet.

In 1958, Nureyev joined the Kirov Ballet. During the company's first tour to Paris in 1961, he became the first Soviet dancer to defect during a confrontation between KGB agents and the French police at Le Bourget Airport. Almost immediately, Nureyev was in demand as a guest artist. In 1962, he danced with the ballerina Margot Fonteyn, beginning one of the most successful partnerships in the history of ballet.

Nureyev worked with many of his generation's leading choreographers, including Frederick Ashton, Maurice B éjart and George Balanchine . He was also one of the first ballet stars to work with modern dance choreographers such as Martha Graham and Paul Taylor.

In 1983, Nureyev was appointed director of the Paris Opera Ballet. He re-energized the company by promoting young dancers and introducing new repertoire, including works by Merce Cunningham and William Forsythe.

Although Nureyev made his mark primarily as a dancer, he choreographed numerous works for companies in Europe and North America. In 1972, he staged The Sleeping Beauty for the National Ballet of Canada in a production that raised the company's international profile.

Websites:

Rudolf Nureyev Foundation

Learn more:

Nureyev, Rudolf. Nureyev: An Autobiography with Pictures. Ed. Alexander Bland. London: Holder & Stoughton, 1962. Solway, Diane. Nureyev. London: Weidenfeld & Nicholson, 1998.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Rudolf Nureyev

célébrité / artiste invité / chorégraphie

(1938-1993)

Rudolf Nureyev est un des grands interprètes du 20e siècle. Il est acclamé pour sa prestance dramatique, sa passion et sa sensualité. Son talent aide à renouveler l'intérêt du public pour les interprètes masculins et inspire les garçons à étudier le ballet.

En 1958, Nureyev se joint au Ballet Kirov. Lors de la première tournée de la compagnie à Paris en 1961, il devient le premier danseur soviétique à faire défection lors d'une confrontation entre des agents du KGB et des policiers français à l'aéroport Le Bourget. Presque immédiatement, Nureyev est sollicité comme artiste invité. En 1961, il danse avec la ballerine Margot Fonteyn, amorçant un des partenariats les plus réussis dans l'histoire du ballet.

Nureyev travaille auprès de plusieurs des grands chorégraphes de sa génération, y compris Frederick Ashton, Maurice B éjart et George Balanchine. Il est aussi une des premières célébrités du ballet à travailler avec les chorégraphes de danse moderne dont Martha Graham et Paul Taylor.

En 1983, Nureyev est nommé directeur du Ballet de l'Opéra de Paris. Il ravive la compagnie en promouvant de jeunes interprètes et en acquérant du nouveau répertoire, notamment de Merce Cunningham et de William Forsythe.

Bien que Nureyev soit surtout reconnu pour son travail d'interprète, il crée de nombreuses pièces pour des compagnies en Europe et en Amérique du Nord. En 1972, il monte La Belle au bois dormant pour le Ballet national du Canada dans une production qui valorise le profil international de la compagnie.

Sites Web :

Rudolf Nureyev Foundation

Pour en savoir plus :

NUREYEV, Rudolf. Nureyev: An Autobiography with Pictures, sous la direction de Alexander Bland. Londres, Holder & Stoughton, 1962. SOLWAY, Diane. Nureyev, Londres, Weidenfeld & Nicholson, 1998.