This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Maud Allan

The Vision of Salomé / libel suit / international star

(1873-1956)

Maud Allan was born in Toronto and later moved to San Francisco with her family. She became one of the most provocative dancers of the early twentieth century. Reviewers praised her supple torso, her graceful arm movements and her lyrical musicality.

In 1906, Allan premiered her most notorious choreographic work, The Vision of Salomé, in Vienna. The presentation helped to fuel a Salomé craze throughout Europe. Interpreting the biblical story of Salomé, Allan titillated audiences with her revealing costume, consisting of an ornately beaded belt over a long translucent skirt and a beaded brassiere with ruby red disks to represent her nipples. At the climax of her dance, she shocked spectators by kissing a prop representing the severed head of John the Baptist.

In 1918, Allan was scheduled to star in the first London production of Oscar Wilde's play Salomé. However, the British Conservative MP, Noël Pemberton-Billing accused Allan and the play's producer, J.T. Grein, of perversion. Allan launched a libel suit, but lost. Following the scandalous news that her schizophrenic brother Theo had been executed for the murders of two women in San Francisco in 1898, Allan's reputation was destroyed.

During her career Allan toured to Russia, the United States, Canada, South Africa, India, Asia and Australia. In 1916, she assembled a company of forty musicians, performing as The Maud Allan Symphony Orchestra under the direction of Ernest Bloch, and six supporting dancers for a tour across North America. She also starred in the silent movie The Rugmaker's Daughter (1915) and was the subject of two novels. Allan later established a dance school for impoverished children in London. During World War II, she was a volunteer ambulance driver for the Red Cross and worked in an airplane factory.

Learn more:

Allan, Maud. My Life and Dancing. London: Everett & Co., 1908.

Cherniavsky, Felix. Maud Allan and Her Art. Toronto: Dance Collection Danse Press/es, 1998.

---. The Salome Dancer: The Life and Times of Maud Allan. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1991.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Maud Allan

La Vision de Salomé / procès en diffamation / star internationale

(1873-1956)

Maud Allan naît à Toronto mais s'installe plus tard à San Francisco avec sa famille. Elle y devient l'une des danseuses les plus sulfureuses du début du XXe siècle.

Les critiques loueront la souplesse de son torse, la grâce du mouvement de ses bras et sa musicalité lyrique. En 1906, Allan présente en première à Vienne La Vision de Salomé, sa chorégraphie la plus célèbre. Le spectacle contribuera à créer un véritable engouement pour la figure biblique dans toute l'Europe. Dans son interprétation de ce récit, Allan émoustille son public avec un costume extrêmement suggestif, qui se limite à une ceinture de perles travaillées ornant une longue jupe transparente et un bustier en perles soulignant le bout des seins par un petit disque couleur rubis. Mais le moment le plus intense de la chorégraphie, qui fait frémir les spectateurs, est celui où elle embrasse la tête décapitée de Saint-Jean-Baptiste.

En 1918, Allan devait être la vedette de la première représentation à Londres de la pièce d'Oscar Wilde, Salomé, ce qui lui vaut les foudres de Noël Pemberton­Billing. Ce député conservateur l'accuse, ainsi que le producteur de la pièce, J.T. Grein, de perversion. Allan intente un procès en diffamation, mais elle le perd. Après la parution dans les journaux de la nouvelle scandaleuse annonçant que son frère Théo, schizophrène, avait été exécuté pour le meurtre de deux femmes à San Francisco, en 1898, la réputation de la danseuse est détruite.

Au cours de sa carrière, Allan a fait une tournée qui l'a amenée en Russie, aux États-Unis, au Canada, en Afrique du Sud, en Inde, en Asie et en Australie. En 1916, elle avait créé un ensemble de quarante musiciens se produisant sous le nom de Maud Allan Symphony Orchestra, sous la direction d'Ernest Bloch, et elle avait recruté six danseurs pour une tournée dans toute l'Amérique du Nord. Elle avait également joué dans un film muet, The Rugmaker's Daughter (1915) et inspiré deux romans. Plus tard, Allan créera une école de danse pour les enfants pauvres de Londres. Au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, elle sera ambulancière bénévole pour la Croix-Rouge et travaillera dans une usine aéronautique.

Pour en savoir plus :

Allan, Maud, My Life and Dancing, Londres, Everett & Co., 1908.

Cherniavsky, Felix, Maud Allan and Her Art, Toronto, Dance Collection Danse Press/es, 1998.

---, The Salome Dancer: The Life and Times of Maud Allan, Toronto, McClelland & Stewart, 1991.