This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Jean-Pierre Perreault

Le Groupe de la Place Royale / Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault

(1947-2002)

Jean-Pierre Perreault was one of the most talented choreographers of his generation. He began his dance career as a charter member of Le Groupe de la Place Royale (later renamed Le Groupe Dance Lab). In the early 1970s, he was appointed co-artistic director of the company with Peter Boneham – a position he held until 1981. After he left Le Groupe, he was in demand as a choreographer and guest teacher at various institutions, including Simon Fraser University in Vancouver and the Laban Centre in London.

A visually oriented artist, Perreault usually began a new choreographic work by first creating the scenic design, which he frequently painted himself. His talent as a visual artist led to solo exhibitions of his drawings in New York, Antwerp, Québec City, Montréal, Glasgow and Stockholm.

Perreault choreographed Joe, a seventy-minute group piece performed by students in the Regroupement Théàtre et Danse de l'Université du Québec à Montréal in 1983. Wearing steel-toed boots and overcoats with fedoras pulled down over their eyes, the dancers created the rhythmic sound score by stomping their boots in unison. The performers in Joe represented the alienation and conformity of contemporary life – themes that recurred throughout Perreault's work. Joe was remounted using professional dancers the following year at the Théatre Maisonneuve in Place des Arts where it was a critical success. Joe has become a Canadian classic. Other significant Perreault works from the 1980s include Stella (1985), a dance for twenty-four women; Piazza (1988), which premiered in New York; and Eldorado (1987, later revised as Orénoque in 1990<

In 1984, Perreault established the Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault in Montréal and was hired by the Université du Québec à Montréal where he taught until 1992.

The Cullberg Ballet in Stockholm invited Perreault to choreograph Flykt, a full-length work to celebrate the new Stockholm House of Dance in 1991. Perreault received international praise for many of his other works, including Nuit (1986), La Vita (1993), Les Années de Pèlerinage (1996) and Eironos (1996).

In 2001, La Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault moved into a new studio and production centre, Espace Chorégraphique. To celebrate Espace Chorégraphique, the company presented Perreault's L'EXIL – L'OUBIL (1999), which had a sold-out five week run. Perreault also received many honours, including a Governor-General's Performing Arts Award in 2002 just a few months prior to his death.

Websites:

Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault

Learn more:

Febvre, Michèle, ed. Jean-Pierre Perreault: Regard pluriel. Montréal: Les heures bleues, 2001.

Gélinas, Aline. Jean-Pierre Perreault, Choreographer: A Collection of Essays. Trans. Lynne Carson. Toronto: Dance Collection Danse, 1992.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Jean-Pierre Perreault

Le Groupe de la Place Royale / Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault

(1947-2002)

Jean-Pierre Perreault a été l'un des chorégraphes les plus talentueux de sa génération. Il a amorcé sa carrière en danse comme membre fondateur du Groupe de la Place Royale (aujourd'hui Le Groupe Lab de danse), dont il est devenu le codirecteur artistique avec Peter Boneham au début des années 1970, poste qu'il allait conserver jusqu'en 1981. Après avoir quitté Le Groupe, il a œuvré comme chorégraphe et professeur invité pour différentes organisations, y compris l'Université Simon Fraser à Vancouver et le Laban Centre à Londres.

Artiste axé sur les arts visuels, Perreault se lançait généralement dans une nouvelle œuvre chorégraphique en commençant par créer le décor, qu'il peignait souvent lui‑même. Son talent d'artiste visuel l'a conduit à présenter des expositions de ses dessins à New‑York, Anvers, Québec, Montréal, Glasgow et Stockholm.

En 1983, il a créé Joe, pièce de groupe de 70 minutes mettant en scène les étudiants du Regroupement Théâtre et Danse de l'Université du Québec à Montréal. Chaussés de bottes et vêtus d'un long imperméable et d'un chapeau melon enfoncé à hauteur des yeux, les danseurs produisent un son rythmique et cadencé en martelant le sol à l'unisson. Les interprètes de Joe évoquent l'aliénation et la conformité de la vie contemporaine – thème récurrent dans l'œuvre de Perreault. Joe a été remonté avec des danseurs professionnels l'année suivante au Théâtre Maisonneuve de la Place des Arts, obtenant un succès qui lui a valu la consécration. Joe est désormais un classique du répertoire canadien. Parmi ses œuvres les plus marquantes des années 1980, mentionnons aussi Stella (1985), une pièce pour vingt-quatre danseuses, Piazza (1988), présentée en première à New York, et Eldorado (1987), remaniée sous le titre Orénoque en 1990).

En 1984, il a créé la Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault à Montréal et il a été engagé par l'UQUAM, où il allait enseigner jusqu'en 1992.

Le Ballet Cullberg de Stockholm l'a invité à chorégraphier Flykt, une pièce intégrale, pour inaugurer la Nouvelle Maison de la Danse à Stockholm en 1991. Nombre des œuvres chorégraphiques de Perreault lui ont valu des prix internationaux, notamment Nuit (1986), La Vita (1993), Les Années de Pèlerinage (1996) et Eironos (1996).

En 2001, La Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault aménageait dans un nouveau studio et centre de production, l'Espace Chorégraphique. Pour célébrer l'événement, la compagnie y a monté L'EXIL – L'OUBLI (1999), qui a fait salle comble cinq semaines de suite. Perreault a reçu de nombreux honneurs, y compris le Prix du Gouverneur général pour les arts de la scène en 2002, quelques mois seulement avant sa mort.

Sites Web :

Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault

Pour en savoir plus :

Febvre, Michèle, sous la direction de, Jean-Pierre Perreault : Regard pluriel, Montréal, Les heures bleues, 2001.

Gélinas, Aline, sous la direction de, Dessiner la danse, Jean-Pierre Perreault, Montréal, Les Herbes rouges, 1991.