This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Boris Volkoff

ice ballets / Volkoff Canadian Ballet

(1900-1974)

Although Boris Volkoff was born in Russia, he is often called the “father of Canadian ballet” because of the enormous impact he had on the development of dance in Canada. As a teacher, he trained numerous Canadian performers who had professional careers. As a choreographer, he created over 350 original dance works during his career in his adopted country.

After dancing with several companies, including the Moscow State Youth Ballet and the Shanghai Variety Ballet, Volkoff joined the company of former Ballets Russes dancer Adolph Bolm in the United States.

In 1929, Volkoff entered Canada to work at Loew's Uptown Theatre in Toronto. He opened his own ballet studio in 1931. In 1932, he created full-length versions of Swan Lake and Prince Igor for the Toronto Skating Club. These “ice ballets” made him famous, but he declined an opportunity to move to New York to stage similar works in order to focus on developing ballet in Canada.

In 1936, Volkoff and his dancers represented Canada at a dance event immediately preceding the infamous 1936 Summer Olympic Games in Berlin, held under the auspices of the Nazis. Despite the controversial nature of these games, this event became one of the first times a Canadian company of dancers performed internationally, and garnered them one of five honourable mentions at the event.

Two years later, Volkoff named his troupe the Volkoff Canadian Ballet. It was arguably the country's first ballet company, although the Royal Winnipeg Ballet holds the title of longest-running Canadian dance company. The Volkoff Canadian Ballet was one of the three dance groups to participate in the inaugural Canadian Ballet Festival in 1948.

A year before his death, Volkoff was honoured for his contributions to Canadian culture when he was named a Member of the Order of Canada. His papers are housed in the Theatre Section of the Metropolitan Toronto Reference Library.

Learn more:

Collier, Clifford. “Boris Volkoff: Father of Canadian Ballet.” Canadian Dance: Visions and Stories. Eds. Selma Landen Odom and Mary Jane Warner. Toronto: Dance Collection Danse Press/es, 2004: 145-151.

Warner, Mary Jane. “The Russian Influence on Dance in Toronto.” Estivale 2000: Canadian Dancing Bodies Then and Now / Les corps dansants d’hier à aujourd’hui au Canada. Ed. Iro Valaskakis Tembeck. Toronto: Dance Collection Danse, 2002: 111-119.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Boris Volkoff

Ballets sur glace / Volkoff Canadian Ballet

(1900-1974)

Bien qu'il soit né en Russie, on dit souvent de Boris Volkoff qu'il est le « père du ballet canadien » en raison de l'influence considérable qu'il a exercé sur le développement de la danse au Canada. Comme professeur, il a formé de nombreux interprètes canadiens qui ont fait carrière en danse. Et en tant que chorégraphe, on lui doit plus de 350 œuvres originales au cours de sa carrière dans son pays d'adoption.

Après avoir été danseur pour plusieurs compagnies, dont l'École de Ballet d'État de Moscou et le Shanghai Variety Ballet, Volkoff se joint à la compagnie d'un ancien danseur des Ballets Russes, Adolph Bolm, aux États-Unis.

En 1929, Volkoff arrive au Canada avec un contrat pour le Loew's Uptown Theatre de Toronto. Il ouvre son propre studio de danse en 1931. En 1932, il crée les versions intégrales du Lac des cygnes et du Prince Igor pour le Toronto Skating Club. Ces « ballets sur glace » le rendent célèbre, mais il refuse alors la possibilité qui lui est offert de déménager à New-York pour faire la chorégraphie de spectacles similaires, préférant se concentrer sur le développement du ballet au Canada.

En 1936, Volkoff et ses danseurs représentent le Canada dans le spectacle-événement qui précède immédiatement les tristement célèbres Jeux olympiques d'été de 1936 à Berlin, tenus sous la bannière nazie. En dépit de la nature controversée de ces jeux, l'événement est marquant pour le Canada car c'est l'une des premières productions d'une compagnie de danse canadienne à l'étranger, et elle obtient l'une des cinq mentions honorifiques.

Deux ans plus tard, Volkoff rebaptise sa troupe qui prend alors le nom de Volkoff Canadian Ballet. Il s'agit sans doute de la première compagnie de danse classique du pays, bien que le Royal Winnipeg Ballet détienne le titre de compagnie de danse la plus ancienne au Canada. Le Volkoff Canadian Ballet était l'une des trois troupes de danse à participer au premier Festival de ballet canadien en 1948.

Un an avant sa mort, en hommage à sa contribution à la culture canadienne, Volkoff a été nommé membre de l'Ordre du Canada. Le fonds Volkoff peut être consulté à la section « Théâtre » de la Metropolitan Toronto Reference Library.

Pour en savoir plus :

Collier, Clifford, « Boris Volkoff: Father of Canadian Ballet », Canadian Dance: Visions and Stories, publication dirigée par Selma Landen Odom et Mary Jane Warner, Toronto, Dance Collection Danse Press/es, 2004, p. 145-151.

Warner, Mary Jane, « The Russian Influence on Dance in Toronto », Estivale 2000: Les corps dansants d’hier à aujourd’hui au Canada/ Canadian Dancing Bodies Then and Now, publication dirigée par Iro Valaskakis Tembeck, Toronto, Dance Collection Danse, 2002, p. 111-119.