This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists


Miriam Adams

ballet / experimental dance / dance archives / dance publishing

(1944- )

Miriam Adams, whose birth name is Miriam Weinstein, was one of Betty Oliphant's early students in Canada. Adams later danced with the National Ballet of Canada from 1963 until 1969. After leaving the company, she and her husband, Lawrence Adams, who was also a dancer, taught at the Lois Smith School of Dance and formed 15 Dancers, a performance group featuring some of their students. Later in the 1970s, the Adams founded 15 Dance Laboratorium, the first theatre to present experimental dance and independent dance artists in Toronto.

During the 1970s, Miriam Adams choreographed several satirical works, including Another Nutcracker (1973), which parodied the classical ballet world she had left. An early proponent of video as an artistic medium, Adams combined her caustic humour with her strong visual sensibility to create several short works that hid her social commentary behind a veneer of hilarity. Most notably, her Sonovovitch (1975) lampooned the media frenzy that had occurred a year earlier when Mikhail Baryshnikov defected from the Soviet Union while on tour in Toronto.

A talented writer and editor, Adams collaborated with her husband to publish several different dance magazines and journals, including Spill and Canadian Dance News. In the 1980s, she worked for the Dance in Canada Association.

Also in the 1980s, Adams and her husband felt compelled to address the Canadian dance community's lack of knowledge of its own history. They organized Encore! Encore!, a dance reconstruction project to document and preserve important Canadian choreographic works. They presented some of their research in a production staged at Expo'86 in Vancouver.

That same year, they began to amass the largest collection of items relating to Canadian theatrical dance history, which led to the formation of their archives, Dance Collection Danse. They began to publish award-winning books under the Dance Collection Danse Press/es imprint in the 1990s.


Dance Collection Danse

Learn more:

Anderson, Carol. “Moving Forward Looking Back: Lawrence and Miriam Adams and Dance Collection Danse.” Canadian Dance: Visions and Stories. Eds. Selma Landen Odom and Mary Jane Warner. Toronto: Dance Collection Danse Press/es, 2004: 345-352.

Fisher, Jennifer. “From Post-Ballet to Post-Modern: The 1972 Debut of Toronto’s Ground-Breaking 15 Dance Collective.” Canadian Dance: Visions and Stories. Eds. Selma Landen Odom and Mary Jane Warner. Toronto: Dance Collection Danse Press/es, 2004: 339-344.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Miriam Adams

Ballet / danse expérimentale / archives de la danse / édition

(1944- )

Miriam Adams, née Miram Weinstein, a été l'une des premières élèves de Betty Oliphant au Canada. Elle a dansé par la suite pour le Ballet national du Canada, de 1963 à 1969. Après avoir quitté la compagnie, elle et son mari, Lawrence Adams, également danseur, ont enseigné à la Lois Smith School of Dance avant de créer 15 Dancers, une troupe de spectacle mettant en vedette certains de leurs élèves. Plus tard, dans les années 1970, le couple Adams a fondé 15 Dance Laboratorium, le premier théâtre torontois à présenter de la danse expérimentale et à mettre en scène des danseurs indépendants.

Au cours des années 1970, Miriam Adams a chorégraphié plusieurs œuvres satyriques comme Another Nutcracker (1973), qui parodie le monde du ballet classique qu'elle venait tout juste de quitter. Avant-gardiste, elle a utilisé très tôt la vidéo comme moyen d'expression artistique. Alliant un humour caustique à une sensibilité visuelle aigue, elle a créé plusieurs courtes pièces qui, sous la trame de l'hilarité, laissent entrevoir une critique sociale. Dans cette veine, la plus remarquable est Sonovovitch (1975), sur le thème de la frénésie qui s'empara des médias lorsque Mikhaïl Barychnikov, star de la danse en Union soviétique, demanda l'asile politique lors d'une tournée à Toronto.

Auteure et rédactrice de talent, M me Adams a collaboré avec son mari à la publication de plusieurs revues et périodiques de danse, notamment Spill et Canadian Dance News. Dans les années 1980, elle a travaillé pour l'association Dance in Canada.

C'est à cette époque que le couple Adams a ressenti le besoin de rendre au milieu de la danse canadienne la mémoire qui lui faisait défaut. Leur projet de documentation et de reconstitution des chorégraphies canadiennes marquantes, Encore! Encore!, a donné naissance à une production qu'ils ont présentée dans le cadre de l'Expo '86 à Vancouver.

La même année, ils ont commencé la plus importante collection de documents se rapportant à l'histoire de la danse théâtrale au Canada, constituant ainsi leur fonds d'archives Dance Collection Danse. Dans les années 1990, ils se sont lancés dans la publication d'ouvrages primés par l'intermédiaire de leur maison d'édition Dance Collection Danse Press/es.

Sites Web :

Dance Collection Danse (anglais ; quelques pages en français dans le catalogue)

Pour en savoir plus :

Anderson, Carol, « Moving Forward Looking Back: Lawrence and Miriam Adams and Dance Collection Danse », Canadian Dance: Visions and Stories, publication dirigée par Selma Landen Odom et Mary Jane Warner, Toronto, Dance Collection Danse Press/es, 2004, p. 345-352.

Fisher, Jennifer, « From Post-Ballet to Post-Modern: The 1972 Debut of Toronto’s Ground-Breaking 15 Dance Collective », Canadian Dance: Visions and Stories, publication dirigée par Selma Landen Odom et Mary Jane Warner, Toronto, Dance Collection Danse Press/es, 2004, p. 339-344.