This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Serge Bennathan

Dancemakers / Canadian Opera Company

(1957- )

French-born Serge Bennathan danced with the Ballet National de Marseille under the direction of Roland Petit. In 1978, he began to choreograph while still a member of the company. In 1985, he moved to Canada.

Bennathan was associated with Le Groupe de la Place Royale (later renamed Le Groupe Dance Lab) in Ottawa before making Vancouver his home. There he worked as an independent dance artist and choreographed for several of the local companies, including Ballet British Columbia and EDAM (Experimental Dance and Music).

In 1990, Bennathan was appointed the artistic director of Dancemakers,, Toronto's second oldest modern dance company. Originally structured as a repertory company for the work of a variety of choreographers, under Bennathan's leadership, Dancemakers has adopted a more choreographically unified approach and now primarily performs his work. This shift in choreographic emphasis has garnered international attention for the group through works such as Bennathan's Quand les grand-mères s'envolent (1992) and Les vents tumultueux (1994). Bennathan stepped down from the role of artistic director of Dancemakers at the end of the company's 2005/2006 dance season.

Bennathan has won numerous awards. The Satie Project (2003) received Dora Mavor Moore Awards for Outstanding New Choreography and Outstanding Performance. He has received commissions from companies in Canada and around the world, including the National Ballet of Canada,, Teatro San Martin Ballet Contemporaneo in Buenos Aires and Le Jeune Ballet International de Cannes.

Bennathan is also in demand for artistic collaborations. In 2002, for instance, he was commissioned by the Canadian Opera Company (COC) to work with director Atom Egoyan on the COC's production of Salome.

In addition to his collaborations with other artists, Bennathan has explored other creative media. Most notably, his book for children, Julius le piano voyageur, was published in October 2002.

Websites:

Dancemakers

Learn more:

Porter, Sara. “Digging into Dance: How Passion Works for Serge Bennathan.” The Responsive Body: A Language of Contemporary Dance. Ed. Brian Webb. Banff, AB: Banff Centre Press, 2002: 2-20.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Serge Bennathan

Dancemakers / Canadian Opera Company

(1957- )

Né en France, Serge Bennathan a dansé avec le Ballet National de Marseille sous la direction de Roland Petit. En 1978, il s'est tourné vers la chorégraphie alors qu'il était toujours membre de la compagnie. En 1985, il a déménagé au Canada.

Il a collaboré un temps avec Le Groupe de la Place Royale (aujourd'hui Le Groupe Lab de danse) à Ottawa, avant de se fixer à Vancouver, où il a œuvré comme artiste indépendant et créé des chorégraphies pour plusieurs compagnies locales, y compris le Ballet British Columbia et le groupe EDAM (Experimental Dance and Music).

En 1990, M. Bennathan a été nommé directeur artistique des Dancemakers, la deuxième plus vieille compagnie de danse moderne de Toronto. Conçus à l'origine comme une compagnie de répertoire regroupant les œuvres de différents chorégraphes, les Dancemakers ont adopté sous sa conduite une approche chorégraphique plus cohérente, et interprètent surtout ses créations dorénavant. Cette réorientation chorégraphique a permis au collectif de se signaler sur la scène internationale, grâce à des œuvres comme Quand les grand-mères s'envolent (1992) et Les Vents tumultueux (1994). M. Bennathan a cependant annoncé son départ de la direction artistique des Dancemakers pour la fin de la saison 2005/2006.

Serge Bennathan a remporté de nombreux prix ; son Projet Satie (2003) a récolté deux prix Dora Mavor Moore, pour la chorégraphie et pour l'interprétation. Plusieurs compagnies canadiennes et étrangères lui ont passé des commandes, notamment le Ballet national du Canada, le Ballet Contemporáneo del Teatro San Martín de Buenos-Aires et Le Jeune Ballet International de Cannes.

Il est aussi très en demande pour divers projets de collaboration artistique. En 2002, par exemple, il a été invité par la Canadian Opera Company (COC) à œuvrer de concert avec le metteur en scène Atom Egoyan à la production de la COC de l'opéra Salomé.

Outre ses collaborations avec d'autres artistes, Serge Bennathan a exploré différentes avenues créatrices. Il est l'auteur, en particulier, d'un remarquable livre pour enfants, Julius le piano voyageur, publié en octobre 2002.

Sites Web :

Dancemakers

Pour en savoir plus :

Porter, Sara, « Digging into Dance: How Passion Works for Serge Bennathan », The Responsive Body: A Language of Contemporary Dance, sous la direction de Brian Webb, Banff (Alberta), Banff Centre Press, 2002 ; p. 2-20.