This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Patricia Beatty

New Dance Group of Canada / Toronto Dance Theatre / dance writing

(1936- )

Without the contributions of dancer, choreographer and teacher Patricia Beatty, the development of modern dance in Canada would have been very different. Beatty, who was born in Toronto, began her early dance training in her hometown before studying in the United States. She attended Bennington College and then the Martha Graham School.

In 1967, Beatty returned to Canada and launched her own company, New Dance Group of Canada. The following year, she formed a triumvirate with two other dancers, David Earle and Peter Randazzo, to found Toronto Dance Theatre, one of Canada 's longest running modern dance companies.

Beatty's choreography has long reflected her spirituality particularly in works such as Dancing the Goddess (1993) as well as her concern for the environment and women's rights. Her affinity for artistic collaborations also defines her work. In 1983, for instance, Beatty worked with Canadian visual artists including Aiko Suzuki to create the event, Painters and the Dance, for which Beatty was awarded a Victor Martin-Lynch Staunton Award, an honour usually reserved for visual artists.

Beatty has worked as an independent choreographer and teacher since the 1990s and is an active advocate for increased preservation of Canada's dance heritage. She is also the author of a book about creativity and choreography, which has been reprinted numerous times.

In 2004, Beatty became a Member of the Order of Canada.

Learn more:

Beatty, Patricia. Form Without Formula: A Concise Guide to the Choreographic Process. Toronto: Dance Collection Danse Press/es, 1999.

Saxton, Nadine, and Katherine Cornell. Toronto Dance Theatre, 19681998: Stages in a Journey. North York, ON: Captus Press, 1998.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Patricia Beatty

New Dance Group of Canada / Toronto Dance Theatre / écrits sur la danse

(1936- )

Sans la contribution de la danseuse, chorégraphe et professeure Patricia Beatty, le développement de la danse moderne au Canada aurait été fort différent. Mme Beatty, qui est née à Toronto, a d'abord étudié la danse dans sa ville natale avant d'être admise au Bennington College et par la suite à l'école de Martha Graham aux États-Unis.

En 1967, elle est rentrée au Canada et a créé sa propre compagnie, le New Dance Group of Canada. L'année suivante, elle formait un triumvirat avec deux autres danseurs, David Earle et Peter Randazzo, pour fonder le Toronto Dance Theatre, l'une des plus anciennes compagnies de danse moderne en activité au pays.

L'art chorégraphique de Patricia Beatty, en particulier dans des œuvres comme Dancing the Goddess (1993), illustre sa quête spirituelle, de même que son engagement pour l'environnement et les droits des femmes. Son goût pour les collaborations artistiques est également l'une des constantes de son travail. En 1983, sa collaboration avec des artistes en arts visuels canadiens, notamment Aiko Suzuki, dans la création de Painters and the Dance, lui a valu le prix Victor Martin-Lynch Staunton, habituellement réservé aux artistes en arts visuels.

Mme Beatty travaille depuis les années 1990 en qualité de chorégraphe indépendante et de professeure, et milite activement pour la sauvegarde du patrimoine canadien de la danse. Elle est également l'auteure d'un ouvrage sur la créativité et la chorégraphie, qui a été réédité à plusieurs reprises.

En 2004, Patricia Beatty est devenue membre de l'Ordre du Canada.

Pour en savoir plus :

Beatty, Patricia, Form Without Formula: A Concise Guide to the Choreographic Process, Toronto, Dance Collection Danse Press/es, 1999.

Saxton, Nadine et Katherine Cornell, Toronto Dance Theatre, 1968–1998: Stages in a Journey, North York (Ontario), Captus Press, 1998.