This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Robert Desrosiers

Desrosiers Dance Theatre

(1953- )

Robert Desrosiers is well known as one of Canada's most innovative and imaginative choreographers. He was born in Montr éal and was accepted to the National Ballet School when he was twelve years old. He was briefly a member of the National Ballet of Canada during the 1971-1972 season before pursuing a career as an independent dance artist. In this capacity he has worked with numerous other artists and companies, including Felix Blaska, Hugo Romeo, Ballet Y's, Dancemakers, Toronto Dance Theatre and Lindsay Kemp. Desrosiers also has collaborated with several Canadian artists, including Leonard Cohen, Toller Cranston and Bruce Cockburn.

In 1980, Desrosiers formed Desrosiers Dance Theatre in Toronto. During the 1980-1981, he was awarded the first Jacqueline Lemieux Prize for his innovative choreography, which is defined by its theatricality and powerful imagery.

His early choreographic works include Brass Fountain (1980), Bad Weather (1982) and Ultracity (1984). One of his most famous works is Blue Snake, which was commissioned by the National Ballet of Canada in 1985. Blue Snake won the Jean A. Chalmers Award for Choreography. The work premiered at the Metropolitan Opera House in New York in 1988 and was later featured in the film, The Company.

His full-length, mult-media spectacle, Lumiere premiered in 1986 and was followed the next year by Concerto in Earth Major. Also in 1987, The Calgary Olympic Arts Festival commissioned Desrosiers to create a full-length work for the Calgary Winter Olympics. His work Incognito was a critical and financial success as part of the Canadian Stage Company's inaugural season in 1988-1989 and later was remounted in New York.

His choreography in the 1990s included Full Moon (1991) for the Glory of Mozart Festival in Toronto; Black & White (1991), a collaboration with painter Dan Solomon; and In Colour (1993) another work created with Solomon. His White Clouds (1994) was commissioned by the National Arts. Desrosiers Dance Theatre disbanded in 2000.

Learn more:

Citron, Paula. “Robert Desrosiers.” Encyclopedia of Theatre Dance in Canada/Encyclopédie de la Danse théâtrale au Canada. Ed. Susan Macpherson. Toronto: Dance Collection Danse Press/es, 2000: 152-153.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Robert Desrosiers

Desrosiers Dance Theatre

(1953- )

Robert Desrosiers est l'un des chorégraphes les plus novateurs et imaginatifs du Canada. Né à Montréal, il a été admis à l'École nationale de Ballet alors qu'il n'avait que douze ans. Pendant une courte période, il a été membre du Ballet national du Canada , au cours de la saison 1971‑1972, avant de poursuivre sa carrière en tant qu'interprète indépendant. C'est ainsi qu'il a travaillé avec de nombreux autres artistes et compagnies, pour ne mentionner que Felix Blaska, Hugo Romeo, le Ballet Y's, les Dancemakers, le Toronto Dance Theatre et Lindsay Kemp . Il a également collaboré avec plusieurs artistes canadiens, notamment Leonard Cohen, Toller Cranston et Bruce Cockburn.

En 1980, il a mis sur pied le Desrosiers Dance Theatre à Toronto. Au cours de la saison 1980/1981, il a reçu le premier Prix Jacqueline Lemieux pour sa chorégraphie avant-gardiste, caractérisée par sa puissante imagerie et sa théâtralité.

Ses premières œuvres ont pour titres Brass Fountain (1980), Bad Weather (1982) et Ultracity (1984). L'une de ses pièces les plus célèbres, Blue Snake, créée en 1985 pour le Ballet National du Canada, lui a valu le Prix de chorégraphie Jean A. Chalmers. Cette œuvre a été présentée en première au Metropolitan Opera de New York en 1988 et reprise plus tard dans le film The Company.

Son important spectacle multimédia, Lumière, a été créé en 1986. L'année suivante, il présentait le Concerto in Earth Major . En 1987, également, le Festival des arts olympiques de Calgary lui a demandé de créer une chorégraphie importante pour les Jeux Olympiques d'hiver de 1988. Sa pièce Incognito, produite au cours de la saison inaugurale de la Canadian Stage Company en 1988/1989, a été un succès financier et lui a valu la consécration. Elle a été reprise à New York par la suite.

Parmi ses œuvres chorégraphiques marquantes des années 1990, mentionnons Full Moon (1991), créée pour le Festival Glory of Mozart de Toronto, ainsi que Black & White (1991) et In Colour (1993), deux œuvres réalisées en collaboration avec le peintre Dan Solomon. Sa pièce His White Clouds (1994) lui a aussi été commandée par le Centre national des Arts. Le Desrosiers Dance Theatre a fermé ses portes en 2000.

Pour en savoir plus :

Citron, Paula. « Robert Desrosiers », Encyclopedia of Theatre Dance in Canada/Encyclopédie de la Danse théâtrale au Canada, . sous la direction de Susan Macpherson, Toronto, Dance Collection Danse Press/es, 2000, p. 152-153.