This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

David Earle

Toronto Dance Theatre / Dancetheatre David Earle

(1939- )

David Earle is one of Canada's most prolific and passionate choreographers. His early stage appearances were with the theatre company Toronto Children's Players, and with Yoné Kvietys' modern dance group in Toronto. In the 1960s, he was a scholarship student in New York at the Martha Graham School. He also performed with the José Limón Dance Company and was the assistant director during the first season of the London Contemporary Dance Theatre in England.

In 1968, Earle returned to Toronto where he joined forces with Patricia Beatty and Peter Randazzo to found Toronto Dance Theatre. He later acted as the sole artistic director from 1987 until 1994. In 1997, he established a new company, Dancetheatre David Earle, in Guelph, Ontario.

Earle has choreographed over 100 works. His style, for example in his Sacra Conversazione (1984) and Boat River Moon (1972), often draws on his profound spirituality as well as his interest in visual imagery and mythology. Earle has the distinction of being one of the few modern dance choreographers whose works cross the ballet/modern divide and are in the repertoires of several ballet companies, including the National Ballet of Canada and Ballet British Columbia.

As a popular teacher, Earle has guest taught across Canada and the United States. He has received numerous awards for his accomplishments in dance. In 1997, he was inducted into the Order of Canada. In 2005, he was awarded an honorary doctorate from Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario.

Websites:

Dancetheatre David Earle

Learn more:

Saxton, Nadine, and Katherine Cornell. Toronto Dance Theatre, 1968-1998: Stages in a Journey. North York, ON: Captus Press, 1998. Wyman, Max. Dance Canada: An Illustrated History. Vancouver: Douglas & McIntyre, 1989.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

David Earle

Toronto Dance Theatre / Dancetheatre David Earle

(1939- )

David Earle est l'un des chorégraphes canadiens les plus féconds et les plus passionnés. Il a fait ses premières apparitions sur scène à Toronto avec la compagnie de théâtre Children's Players ainsi qu'avec la troupe de danse moderne de Yoné Kvietys. Dans les années 1960, une bourse lui a permis de fréquenter l'école de Martha Graham à New-York. Il a aussi fait partie de la compagnie de José Limón et a été directeur adjoint du London Contemporary Dance Theatre, en Angleterre, au cours de sa première saison.

En 1968, de retour à Toronto, il a fait équipe avec Patricia Beatty et Peter Randazzo pour fonder le Toronto Dance Theatre. Il allait assurer seul la direction artistique de la compagnie de 1987 à 1994. En 1997, il a lancé une nouvelle compagnie, Dancetheatre David Earle, à Guelph, en Ontario.

David Earle a créé la chorégraphie de plus de 100 œuvres. Son style, dont Sacra Conversazione (1984) et Boat River Moon (1972) offrent un bon aperçu, doit beaucoup à sa profonde spiritualité et à sa passion pour l'imagerie visuelle et la mythologie. Il se distingue comme l'un des rares chorégraphes de danse moderne dont les œuvres transcendent la dichotomie ballet classique/danse moderne et sont inscrites au répertoire de plusieurs compagnies de ballet, incluant le Ballet national du Canada et le Ballet British Columbia.

Très apprécié de ses élèves, David Earle a été professeur invité dans différents établissements du Canada et des États-Unis. Ses réalisations en danse lui ont attiré de nombreux prix et récompenses. En 1997, il a reçu l'Ordre du Canada et en 2005, l'Université Queen's de Kingston, en Ontario, lui a décerné un doctoral honorifique.

Sites Web :

Dancetheatre David Earle (anglais seulement)

Pour en savoir plus :

Saxton, Nadine et Katherine Cornell, Toronto Dance Theatre, 1968-1998: Stages in a Journey, North York (Ontario), Captus Press, 1998. Wyman, Max, Dance Canada: An Illustrated History, Vancouver, Douglas & McIntyre, 1989.