This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Celia Franca

National Ballet of Canada / National Ballet School / School of Dance in Ottawa

(1921-2007)

Celia Franca was the first artistic director of the National Ballet of Canada and was an important influence on the development of ballet in Canada. She became a member of Ballet Rambert in her native England in 1936. During the 1940s, she performed with the Sadler's Wells Ballet (later renamed the Royal Ballet). She later danced with the Metropolitan Ballet and received the British Broadcasting Corporation's first two commissions for choreography.

In 1950, Ninette de Valois, the founder of the Sadler's Wells Ballet (first named the Vic-Wells Ballet and later renamed the Royal Ballet), recommended Franca to a group of Canadians who wanted to start a company in Toronto. The following year, the National Ballet of Canada gave its first public performance under Franca's direction.

Franca quickly built the company's repertoire on a foundation of the classics and invited guest artists from Europe to perform with her company. Although her critics charged that the National Ballet of Canada was neither “Canadian” nor “national,” the company did perform works by Canadian choreographers, including Grant Strate, then in Toronto; Kay Armstrong, from Vancouver and Elizabeth Leese, from Montréal. Franca joined forces with British teacher Betty Oliphant in 1959 to establish the National Ballet School in order to train Canadian dancers for the company.

During the 1960s and 1970s, Franca strengthened the company's international reputation by inviting international stars such as Erik Bruhn and Rudolf Nureyev to stage full-length classical works. During the 1970s, her association with the company and the board of directors became increasingly strained. She officially left in 1974.

Among her many awards, in 1967 Franca became the first dance artist inducted into the Order of Canada. In 1985, she received the highest honour, Companion of the Order. Franca continues to contribute to dance. In 2002, she was invited to stage Antony Tudor's Judgment of Paris for the National Ballet of Canada. In 1978, she became co-artistic director (with Merrilee Hodgins) of the School of Dance in Ottawa.

Websites:

National Ballet of Canada

Remembering Celia Franca: CBC Archives indepth feature

Learn more:

Neufeld, James. Power to Rise: The Story of the National Ballet of Canada. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1996.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Cette vidéo est seulement disponible en anglais.
Lisez la transcription de l'entrevue.

Biographie

Celia Franca

Ballet national du Canada / École nationale de ballet / School of Dance à Ottawa

(1921-2007)

Celia Franca a été la première directrice artistique du Ballet national du Canada et elle a exercé une influence marquante sur le développement de la danse classique au Canada. Après avoir été admise au Ballet Rambert dans son Angleterre natale en 1936, elle a fait partie de la troupe du Sadler's Wells Ballet (aujourd'hui le Royal Ballet) dans les années 1940, et elle a dansé ensuite pour le Metropolitan Ballet. Elle a reçu ses deux premières commandes de chorégraphie de la BBC.

En 1950, Ninette de Valois, fondatrice du Sadler's Wells Ballet (subséquemment rebaptisé le Vic-Wells Ballet puis le Royal Ballet), a recommandé Celia Franca à un groupe de Canadiens qui voulaient former une compagnie à Toronto. L'année suivante, le Ballet national du Canada donnait sa première représentation publique sous sa direction.

Rapidement, Celia Franca a constitué le répertoire de la compagnie sur un fond de pièces classiques et a fait venir d'Europe des artistes invités pour être les interprètes de ses spectacles. Malgré les détracteurs qui la critiquaient en faisant observer que le Ballet national du Canada n'avait rien de « canadien » ni de « national », la compagnie a donné des commandes à des chorégraphes canadiens, y compris Grant Strate, alors à Toronto, Kay Armstrong, de Vancouver et Elizabeth Leese de Montréal. M me Franca a fait équipe avec la professeure britannique Betty Oliphant, en 1959, pour créer l'École nationale de ballet du Canada, de manière à former des interprètes canadiens pour la compagnie.

Dans les années 1960 et 1970, Celia Franca a renforcé la réputation internationale de la compagnie en invitant des stars internationales comme Erik Bruhn et Rudolf Noureïev à monter des œuvres classiques en version intégrale. Au cours des années 1970, son association avec la compagnie et le conseil d'administration est devenue de plus en plus orageuse et elle a quitté son poste officiellement en 1974.

Celia Franca a reçu de nombreuses distinctions honorifiques et, en 1967, elle est devenue la première artiste du monde de la danse à recevoir l'Ordre du Canada. En 1985, elle a été élevée au plus haut rang, en devenant compagnon de l'Ordre. Celia Franca continue de créer pour la danse et, en 2002, elle a été invitée à mettre en scène Le jugement de Paris d'Antony Tudor pour le Ballet national du Canada. En 1978, elle a été nommée codirectrice artistique avec Merrilee Hodgins de la School of Dance à Ottawa.

Sites Web :

Ballet national du Canada (anglais seulement)

Remembering Celia Franca: CBC Archives indepth feature (in English)

Pour en savoir plus :

Neufeld, James, Power to Rise: The Story of the National Ballet of Canada, Toronto, University of Toronto Press, 1996.