This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

This video is only available in French.
Read the transcript of this interview.

Biography

Noam Gagnon

The Holy Body Tattoo

(1963- )

Noam Gagnon met Dana Gingras in the late 1980s while both were dancing for EDAM (Experimental Dance and Music) in Vancouver. They later worked together as dancers for Le Groupe Dance Lab in Ottawa before returning to Vancouver to start their own company, The Holy Body Tattoo, in 1993. The company's name references how life experiences become inscribed on the body, permanently marking and changing it.

The film version of their work Poetry and Apocalypse (1994) has been shown at more than sixteen international film festivals and has received numerous awards and accolades. In 1997, The Holy Body Tattoo was nominated for more than one Dora Mavor Moore Award for our brief eternity (1996) and won for Best Ensemble Performance. In our brief eternity, the movements of the three dancers on stage are perfectly synchronized with the movements in a video of three dancers in different costumes and shot from different angles performing the same choreography.

Circa (2000) is a full-length work using the tango form to investigate desire and intimacy, which is set to live accompaniment by the band Tiger Lillies. It has toured internationally to countries including Croatia, Italy and Switzerland. Circa was also performed in London at the Barbican International Theatre and in Germany where Pina Bausch invited them to appear at the Ein Fest in Wuppertal. In 2000, Circa won the inaugural Alcan Performing Arts Award – Dance, administered by the Vancouver East Cultural Centre.

In 2004, Gagnon and Gingras premiered Running Wild, a program of solos and duets. The Holy Body Tattoo's largest ensemble work, monumental (2005), features nine dancers, and was commissioned by the National Arts Centre–CGI's Youth Commission for Dance, a partnership with the Canada Council for the Arts.

Websites:

The Holy Body Tattoo

Learn more:

Miller, Robin J. “The Holy Body Tattoo’s monumental Development.” The Dance Current 7.8 (March 2005): 18-22.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Noam Gagnon

The Holy Body Tattoo

(1963- )

Noam Gagnon a rencontré Dana Gingras à la fin des années 1980 alors qu'ils dansaient tous deux pour le groupe EDAM (Experimental Dance and Music) à Vancouver. Par la suite, ils ont travaillé ensemble en tant que danseurs pour Le Groupe Lab de danse à Ottawa avant de retourner à Vancouver pour y créer leur propre compagnie, The Holy Body Tattoo, en 1993. Le nom de la compagnie est symbolique et évoque les marques indélébiles inscrites dans le corps par les expériences vécues qui peu à peu le modifient.

La version cinématographique de leur pièce Poetry and Apocalypse (1994) a été projetée dans plus de seize festivals internationaux du cinéma, raflant plusieurs prix au passage. En 1997, The Holy Body Tattoo a été mis en nomination dans deux catégories de danse aux prix Dora Mavor Moore pour sa pièce Our brief eternity (1996) et a remporté le titre de meilleure pièce d'ensemble. Dans cette œuvre, les mouvements des trois danseurs sur scène sont parfaitement synchronisés avec ceux, filmés sur vidéo, des trois mêmes interprètes, dans la même chorégraphie, pris sous des angles différents et dans des costumes différents.

Circa (2000) est une pièce intégrale qui utilise le tango pour explorer le désir et l'intimité, réglée sur la musique qu'interprète sur scène la formation Tiger Lillies. Circa a fait une tournée internationale et a été présentée dans des pays comme la Croatie, l'Italie et la Suisse. Le spectacle a également été monté à Londres au Barbican International Theatre et en Allemagne, au Ein Fest in Wuppertal, sur l'invitation de Pina Bausch. En 2000, Circa a remporté le tout premier Prix Alcan pour les arts de la scène en danse, remis par le Vancouver East Cultural Centre.

En 2004, Noam Gagnon et Dana Gingras ont présenté en première Running Wild, un programme de solos et de duos. Cependant, l'œuvre collective la plus ambitieuse du Holy Body Tattoo est monumental (2005), qui met en scène neuf danseurs ; elle a été commandée à la compagnie dans le cadre des Commandes de danse jeunesse Centre national des Arts-CGI, en partenariat avec le Conseil des Arts du Canada.

Sites Web :

The Holy Body Tattoo (français et anglais)

Pour en savoir plus :

Miller, Robin J, « The Holy Body Tattoo’s monumental Development », The Dance Current, vol. 7, no 8 (mars 2005), p. 18-22.