This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Biography

Leonard Gibson

Negro Workshop Dance Group / Bamboula / Len Gibson Dance Ensemble

(1926- )

Leonard Gibson is one of Canada's most versatile dancers. With a career spanning over six decades, he is also one of the country's longest working professional artists. Originally self-taught by watching the films of Gene Kelly and Sammy Davis Jr., Gibson began to perform professionally at the age of five as a tap dance phenomenon in Vancouver. Before the age of ten, he appeared on stage with touring groups, including The Eddie Cantor Show and Blackstone the Magician.

Gibson later studied ballet with Vancouver teacher Mara McBirney. In 1947, he joined the American choreographer and dancer Katherine Dunham and her company on stage as a last-minute replacement when the group performed in Vancouver. Afterwards, Dunham offered Gibson a scholarship to attend her school in New York. When he returned to Vancouver, he formed his own group, the Negro Workshop Dance Group, and received standing ovations for his performances in 1949 at the provincial dance festivals in his own choreographic works, The Thief and Abstraction.

The British Columbia Ballet Company, which was created by McBirney and Heino Heiden, performed Gibson's Gershwin Preludes (a.k.a. Les Preludes ) at the last Canadian Ballet Festival in 1953. The following year, Gibson choreographed and appeared in Bamboula, the first Canadian Broadcasting Corporation musical variety television series produced in Vancouver. It was one of the first programs to feature an interracial cast of dancers. Also, in the 1950s, Gibson performed in several of Vancouver's Theatre Under the Stars productions such as Kiss Me Kate and Finian's Rainbow.

During the 1960s, Gibson pursued international opportunities, working with the British Broadcasting Corporation and appearing in nightclubs. He returned to Canada in the 1970s and opened his own studio in Toronto. In the 1990s, Gibson travelled to Africa to study traditional African dance styles. His 1992 production, Juke Joint: 100 Years of Black Dance in the New World, which was performed by the Len Gibson Dance Ensemble, celebrated the dances of the African diaspora.

Among his many awards, in 2000, the Black Business and Professional Association presented Gibson with the prestigious Harry Jerome Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Learn more:

Lindgren, Allana. “Bamboula Turns 50.” Dance Collection Danse Magazine 58 (Fall 2004): 14-18.

---. “Leonard Gibson: A Portrait.” Dance Collection Danse Magazine 58 (Fall 2004): 19-21.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

Biographie

Leonard Gibson

Negro Workshop Dance Group / Bamboula / Len Gibson Dance Ensemble

(1926- )

Leonard Gibson est l'un des danseurs canadiens les plus polyvalents. Il est également l'un des artistes professionnels ayant connu la plus longue carrière, puisqu'elle s'étend sur plus de six décennies. Jeune prodige de la danse, il dansait déjà les claquettes sur scène en professionnel à cinq ans, à Vancouver. Il avait appris par lui-même en regardant les films de Gene Kelly et de Sammy Davis Jr. Avant l'âge de dix ans, il montait déjà sur les planches avec des groupes en tournée, dont le Eddie Cantor Show et Blackstone the Magician.

M. Gibson a plus tard étudié la danse classique auprès de Mara McBirney, professeure de Vancouver. En 1947, il a été appelé à remplacer au pied levé un danseur absent dans le cadre d'un spectacle donné à Vancouver par la danseuse américaine Katherine Dunham et sa compagnie. Peu après, Mme Dunham lui a offert une bourse pour suivre les cours de son école à New-York. De retour à Vancouver, il a formé son propre groupe, le Negro Workshop Dance Group, recevant de vibrantes ovations en 1949 dans les festivals de danse provinciaux où il était allé présenter deux de ses propres chorégraphies, The Thief et Abstraction.

La British Columbia Ballet Company, créée par Mara McBirney et Heino Heiden, a interprété les Préludes de Gershwin sur une chorégraphie de M. Gibson au dernier Festival de ballet canadien en 1953. L'année suivante, il a chorégraphié et interprété Bamboula, la première série de variétés musicales produite pour la télévision à Vancouver par la Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. Ce fut aussi l'un des premiers programmes à mettre en scène un groupe de danseurs appartenant à plusieurs races. Dans les années 1950, M. Gibson est apparu dans plusieurs productions du Theatre Under the Stars de Vancouver, notamment Kiss Me Kate et Finian's Rainbow.

Dans les années 1960, M. Gibson a mené une carrière internationale, travaillant pour la BBC et se produisant dans les boîtes de nuit. De retour au Canada dans les années 1970, il a ouvert son propre studio à Toronto. Dans les années 1990, il a parcouru l'Afrique pour y étudier les styles de danses traditionnelles africaines. Sa création de 1992, Juke Joint: 100 Years of Black Dance in the New World, exécutée par le Len Gibson Dance Ensemble, est un hommage aux danses de la diaspora africaine.

En 2000, la Black Business and Professional Association a remis à Leonard Gibson le prestigieux Prix Harry Jerome pour l'ensemble de son œuvre. Cette distinction s'ajoute aux nombreuses récompenses et prix obtenus auparavant.

Pour en savoir plus :

Lindgren, Allana, « Bamboula Turns 50 », Dance Collection Danse Magazine, no 58 (automne 2004), p. 14-18.

---, « Leonard Gibson: A Portrait », Dance Collection Danse Magazine no 58 (automne 2004), p. 19-21.