This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Dance in Canada: A Rich and Varied Art

By Michael Crabb

One could say that dance in Canada has been around for as long as there have been people on the land, because rhythmic bodily movement is instinctive. Dancing comes naturally to human beings. However, dance as a theatrical form of entertainment, and especially professional dance, is much more recent in Canada and has been shaped by imported traditions.

Early European explorers encountered the dances of the First Nations peoples. While some explorers may have been intrigued to learn about these dances, advancing colonization saw the increasing domination of imported forms. European dancing masters instructed the daughters of the wealthy, and performances by visiting troupes, though sporadic, were popular in colonial times.

As Canadian cities grew during the 20th century, they became part of the North American touring circuit. Many of the leading foreign companies and artists, such as Anna Pavlova, performed in Canada and helped to broaden local interest in dance.

Ballet was particularly favoured. It was the leading form of European theatrical dance and the majority of Canada 's immigrants came from Europe. Most of Canada 's professional-level dance teachers, such as Boris Volkoff, also came from overseas. However, in the absence of professional Canadian troupes, their best students had to seek employment abroad.

Starting in the late 1930s, it took the pioneering vision of a succession of immigrant dancers and teachers, all women, to recognize the potential for change. Gweneth Lloyd, Betty Farrally and Celia Franca from England, and Ludmilla Chiriaeff from Latvia, were instrumental in establishing professional Canadian ballet. Today's Royal Winnipeg Ballet, the National Ballet of Canada and Les Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal are the result of their and others' efforts.

These three flagship companies and their respective schools blazed the trail for professional ballet and dance generally in Canada. By the late 1950s, these companies were also touring abroad.

Dancing breeds choreographers and, by the 1960s, a number of Canadians, notably Brian Macdonald, were establishing an international reputation for creative innovation that continues today.

Starting in the late 1950s, the decision of governments at all levels to make an investment in Canadian culture was crucial to the advancement of professional dance. The Canada Council for the Arts particularly, enabled dance to thrive.

Companies working in various contemporary genres emerged by the early 1970s in Toronto, Winnipeg and Vancouver. Artists, such as Danny Grossman, Patricia Beatty, Rachel Brown, Paula Ross and Anna Wyman established companies, many of which still exist today. Montréal became particularly acknowledged as a powerhouse of experimentation and innovation, through the work of artists such as Jeanne Renaud and Jean-Pierre Perreault.

Today, Canada's cultural diversity is reflected in the success of dance artists working theatrically in such different traditions as South Asian, African, Ukrainian and First Nations, including Menaka Thakkar and Zab Maboungou. Some artists choose to work in classical styles, while others work in contemporary styles.

Canadian dance artists have an increasing respect for diverse forms of expression and a desire to learn new ways of moving. They are also developing unique collaborations that promote sharing among a broad range of disciplines, styles and cultures. With these new approaches, Canadian dance is becoming an extraordinarily rich and varied art.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

La danse au Canada : un grand art protéiforme

par Michael Crabb

Puisque le mouvement rythmique du corps est instinctif, il est possible de dire qu'il y a de la danse au Canada depuis que les gens habitent le pays. La danse vient naturellement à l'humain. Toutefois, la danse en tant que forme théâtrale de divertissement, et surtout la danse professionnelle, sont beaucoup plus récentes au Canada et découlent de traditions importées.

Les premiers explorateurs européens ont été initiés aux danses des Premières nations. Tandis que certains explorateurs auraient été intrigués par ces danses, la progression de la colonisation entraîne la primauté de formes de danse importées. À l'époque coloniale, les maîtres à danser européens enseignent aux filles de familles fortunées, et les spectacles de troupes venues d'ailleurs, bien que peu fréquents, connaissent un succès populaire.

Grâce à leur croissance au cours du 20e siècle, les villes canadiennes s'ajoutent au parcours des tournées nord américaines. Multiples grands artistes et grandes compagnies venus de l'étranger, dont Anna Pavlova, se présentent au Canada et aident à élargir l'intérêt régional pour la danse.

Le ballet classique est particulièrement favorisé. Il s'agit alors de la forme de danse théâtrale la plus importante en Europe et la majorité des immigrants au Canada viennent de l'Europe. C'est ainsi pour la plupart des enseignants de la danse au niveau professionnel, tel Boris Volkoff. Cependant, faute de troupes professionnelles au Canada, leurs meilleurs élèves doivent chercher du travail à l'étranger.

À partir de la fin des années 1930, une succession d'immigrantes versées en danse, toutes des femmes, ont la perspicacité inédite de voir le potentiel de changer l'état de la danse professionnelle au Canada. Gweneth Lloyd, Betty Farrally et Celia Franca d'Angleterre, et Ludmilla Chiriaeff de Lettonie, sont capitales à la fondation du ballet classique professionnel au Canada. Les fruits des efforts de ces pionnières et de d'autres se manifestent encore aujourd'hui avec le Royal Winnipeg Ballet, le Ballet national du Canada et Les Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal.

Ces trois compagnies phares et leurs écoles respectives frayent le chemin pour le ballet classique professionnel et la danse en général au Canada. Dès la fin des années 1950, ces compagnies se présentent en tournée à l'étranger.

La danse produit des chorégraphes et, à compter des années 1960, nombre de canadiens, notamment Brian Macdonald, lancent la réputation internationale du Canada pour l'innovation en danse, réputation qui perdure.

À partir de la fin des années 1950, la décision de tous les niveaux du gouvernement d'investir dans la culture canadienne est d'une importance première pour le progrès de la danse professionnelle. Le Conseil des Arts du Canada, en particulier, permet à la danse de prendre son envol.

Des compagnies ouvrant dans une variété de genres contemporains émergent dès le début des années 1970, à Toronto, à Winnipeg et à Vancouver. Des artistes, dont Danny Grossman, Patricia Beatty, Rachel Brown, Paula Ross et Anna Wyman fondent des compagnies, dont plusieurs existent encore aujourd'hui. Montréal se démarque singulièrement comme chef de file de l'expérimentation et de l'innovation grâce aux ouvres d'artistes comme Jeanne Renaud et Jean-Pierre Perreault.

Aujourd'hui, la diversité culturelle du Canada se reflète dans le succès d'artistes de la danse théâtrale qui travaillent à partir de traditions de l'Asie du Sud, de l'Afrique, de l'Ukraine et des Premières nations, y compris Menaka Thakkar et Zab Maboungou. Certains artistes travaillent dans les styles classiques et d'autres choisissent des styles contemporains.

De plus en plus, les artistes de la danse canadiens témoignent de respect pour diverses formes d'expression et désirent apprendre de nouvelles façons de bouger. Ils entreprennent aussi des collaborations uniques qui promeuvent le partage entre une vaste gamme de disciplines, de styles et de cultures. Grâce à ces nouvelles approches, la danse au Canada devient un art protéiforme d'une richesse extraordinaire.