This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

More for:

A Message From Peter Herrndorf

National Arts Centre President and Chief Executive Officer

Welcome to ArtsAlive.ca the National Arts Centre's new Web site dedicated to arts education for young people. Thanks to the generous support of TELUS, we have created an innovative and interactive site that offers unique opportunities for students and teachers to engage in on-line learning that is also fun!

ArtsAlive.ca represents a perfect marriage of technology and art. By harnessing the power of the Internet, we are able to introduce young people across Canada and around the world to the magic of the performing arts, as well as provide their teachers with resource material and educational modules.

Our first module is dedicated to classical music. Visitors to ArtsAlive.ca can hear the wonderful sounds of Canada's National Artts Centre Orchestra, "try out" instruments themselves, and perhaps answer the age old question, "What's the difference between a violin and a viola?"

Future additions to the site will include English and French Theatre as well as Dance modules.

Youth and educational activities can make an enormous contribution to both the educational and cultural life of Canada. As Canada's National Arts Centre, we are pleased to take a leadership role with our partner TELUS in making the performing arts far more accessible to young people everywhere

A Message from Pinchas Zukerman

Music Director

Being a teacher provides me with an opportunity to encourage some of the brightest young musical talents in Canada and around the world. I believe that everyone, no matter what age or skill level benefits from experiencing the performing arts. The National Arts Centre and the National Arts Centre Orchestra belong to all Canadians. Artsalive.ca will share information about music and about those who create and perform the music, beyond the performance and rehearsal halls of the National Arts Centre. This is part of our commitment to reach out to young people across Canada and to share in the rich tapestry of the performing arts.

I invite you to join us in this wonderful journey of discovery!

A message from the Music Education Office of the National Arts Centre

Hello reader!

What a thrill for us to link up with all of you through these web pages, designed specifically with young people in mind, but certainly of interest to all ages. We hope you find these pages interesting, fun and helpful in guiding you in your study of music, in general, and music for orchestra, in particular.

We have divided the pages in sections for easier access, with information on famous composers and instruments of the orchestra, fun music activities and games, music downloads and video interviews with musicians, and a spotlight on submissions by you including concert reviews, artwork, and letters.

If you live in the National Capital Region, or are planning a trip to Ottawa this year, you can learn about the many programs we offer both at the National Arts Centre and in your school. These range from open rehearsals and student concerts with the National Arts Centre Orchestra to visits by ensembles made up of many of the instruments of the orchestra.

We are here for you if you need us. You can reach us by email at mused@nac-cna.ca or by phone at 947-7000, ext. 390.

Happy exploring!

Claire Speed
Education Manager

Geneviève Cimon
Education Officer

About the National Arts Centre

The National Arts Centre (NAC) is Canada's pre-eminent showcase for the performing arts and a catalyst for the performing arts nationally – nurturing and supporting artists and arts organizations in communities across the country. The NAC is home to the internationally acclaimed National Arts Centre Orchestra, and is a leader in the presentation of classical music, dance, English and French theatre, variety and community programming – and it has been for over 30 years.

Its mandate is unique. The NAC features classical music, theatre, dance, opera and variety. It embraces the culture of Canada's two official languages – in fact it is the only bilingual performing arts organization in the country to cover the four major performing arts disciplines.

To achieve its vision, the NAC is committed to initiatives that emphasize and restore its national role. To be Canada's National Arts Centre means bringing performances to Canadians wherever they live and, similarly, drawing in talent from across the country to appear on the NAC's stages.

Equally important to the NAC is its ability to strive towards artistic expansion and innovation by recruiting world-class musicians, developing new programs, and using broadband technology to expand its reach across Canada and around the world.

The NAC is also at the forefront of youth and educational activities, supporting programs for young and emerging artists, programs for young audiences, and producing resources and study materials for teachers. Each year it reaches thousands of students from pre-school through university, and it continues to introduce programs are relevant to this growing and dynamic audience.

About National Arts Centre New Media

The National Arts Centre's New Media group is a small team creating online projects which help fulfill the NAC's national mandate. NAC New Media uses today's as well as tomorrow's technologies to engage, inform and entertain arts lovers across Canada and around the world.

NAC New Media works with the NAC's programming and eduction departments to create compelling content for the National Arts Centre's websites, including:

Hexagon is the NAC's research and development project, which leverages next-generation broadband videoconferencing to extend the reach of the NAC's interactive outreach programmes. Tele-mentoring, education outreach, and audience development are explored using ultrafast networks like Canada's CA*net4 and Internet2 in the US.

NAC New Media acknowledges the tremendous support of the Department of Canadian Heritage and our technology partners the National Research Council.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Ressources pour :

Message de M. Peter Herrndorf

Président et chef de la direction

Bienvenue à Artsvivants.ca.ca, le nouveau site Web du Centre national des Arts consacré à l'éducation artistique des jeunes. Grâce à l'appui généreux de notre commanditaire, TELUS, nous avons créé un site novateur et interactif qui offre aux élèves et aux enseignants une occasion unique d'acquérir une formation en ligne qui instruit tout en amusant!

Le programme Artsvivants.ca est un mariage parfait entre la technologie et les arts. En exploitant toutes les possibilités d'Internet, nous sommes en mesure d'initier les jeunes partout au Canada et dans le monde à la magie des arts de la scène, tout en fournissant à leurs enseignants des ressources et des modules éducatifs.

Notre premier module est consacré à la musique classique. Les visiteurs du site Artsvivants.ca.ca pourront entendre les sons magnifiques de l'Orchestre du Centre national des Arts, « essayer » des instruments d'orchestre et, peut-être, trouver une réponse à la sempiternelle question, « Quelle est la différence entre un violon et un alto? »

Les activités pédagogiques destinées aux jeunes peuvent contribuer énormément à la vie éducative et culturelle du Canada. Au Centre national des Arts, nous sommes fiers d'assumer un rôle de premier plan, de concert avec notre partenaire TELUS, afin de rendre les arts de la scène plus accessibles aux jeunes, où qu'ils se trouvent dans le monde.

Message de M. Pinchas Zukerman

Directeur musical

Mon travail d'enseignant me donne l'occasion d'encourager quelques-uns des jeunes talents musicaux les plus prometteurs du Canada et du monde. Je crois que chaque personne, quel que soit son âge ou son niveau de compétence, s'enrichit au contact des arts de la scène.

Le Centre national des Arts et l'Orchestre du Centre national des Arts appartiennent à l'ensemble des Canadiennes et des Canadiens. Le site Artsvivants.ca.ca diffusera de l'information au sujet de la musique et de ceux qui la créent et qui l'interprètent auprès d'un auditoire bien plus vaste que celui qui assiste aux répétitions et aux concerts présentés au Centre national des Arts. Nous pourrons ainsi, comme nous nous y sommes engagés, rejoindre les jeunes partout au Canada et contribuer au rayonnement de la multitude de disciplines qui forment les arts de la scène.

Je vous invite à vous joindre à nous dans ce merveilleux voyage de découverte!

Music EducationMessage du Bureau de l'éducation musicale du Centre national des Arts

Bonjour!

C'est un grand plaisir pour nous que d'établir des liens avec vous dans ces pages Web destinées à stimuler surtout l'intérêt des jeunes, mais aussi celui des internautes de tout âge. Nous espérons qu'elles vous plairont et qu'elles vous aideront dans votre étude de la musique en général et, plus précisément, de la musique orchestrale.

Pour faciliter la consultation du site, nous avons divisé celui-ci en sections qui contiennent de l'information sur les grands compositeurs et les instruments d'orchestre, des activités et des jeux inspirés par la musique, des fichiers téléchargeables de musique et des interviews en vidéo avec des musiciens, en plus d'une section qui met en vedette vos textes, y compris vos comptes rendus de concerts, vos oeuvres d'art et vos lettres.

Si vous habitez la région de la capitale nationale ou que vous envisagez un voyage à Ottawa, renseignez-vous sur les divers programmes offerts au Centre national des Arts et dans votre école. Ces programmes vont de répétitions publiques et de concerts pour les élèves donnés par l'Orchestre du Centre national des Arts aux visites d'ensembles composés de divers instruments de l'orchestre.

Si vous avez besoin de nous, nous sommes là. N'hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous par courriel au mused@nac-cna.ca ou par téléphone au 947-7000, poste 390.

Bonne navigation!

Claire Speed
Gestionnaire de l'éducation musicale

Geneviève Cimon
Agente d'éducation

À propos du Centre national des Arts

Le Centre national des Arts (CNA) est la vitrine privilégiée que s'est donnée le Canada en matière d'arts d'interprétation et un catalyseur sur ce plan à l'échelle nationale - en encourageant et en soutenant les artistes et les organismes d'art dans les collectivités partout au pays. Le CNA est le siège de l'Orchestre du Centre national des Arts, de réputation internationale, et joue un rôle déterminant dans la présentation de concerts de musique classique, de spectacles de danse, de pièces de théâtre français et anglais, de spectacles de variétés et d'activités communautaires - et il en est ainsi depuis plus de 30 ans déjà.

Son mandat est unique. Le CNA présente de la musique classique, du théâtre, de la danse, de l'opéra et des spectacles de variétés. Il englobe la culture dans les deux langues officielles du Canada; en fait, il est le seul organisme bilingue au pays à toucher les quatre principales disciplines d'interprétation.

Pour mettre sa vision en œuvre, le CNA se consacre à des projets qui soulignent et valorisent son rôle national. Être le Centre national des Arts du Canada signifie donner accès aux Canadiens à des prestations artistiques où qu'ils vivent et, parallèlement, permettre aux artistes de partout au Canada de se produire sur les scènes du CNA.

Le CNA considère également très important son rôle d'encourager le développement et l'innovation dans le domaine des arts en recrutant des musiciens de classe internationale, en élaborant de nouveaux programmes et en ayant recours à une technologie de large bande pour accroître sa portée au Canada et dans le monde entier.

Le CNA joue également un rôle de premier plan en matière d'activités éducatives et pour la jeunesse en soutenant financièrement des programmes destinés, d'une part, aux artistes en début de carrière et, d'autre part, aux jeunes auditoires ainsi qu'en produisant des ressources et du matériel d'enseignement pour les professeurs. Chaque année, il rejoint des milliers d'étudiants du niveau préscolaire jusqu'à l'université et il continue à lancer des programmes adaptés à cet auditoire dynamique en pleine croissance.

À propos des Nouveaux médias du CNA

Le groupe des Nouveaux médias du Centre national des Arts se compose d'une petite équipe qui a de grandes idées! Les Nouveaux médias du CNA utilisent les outils technologiques d'aujourd'hui et de demain pour appuyer les programmes d'éducation et de rayonnement du Centre national des Arts.

Les Nouveaux médias travaillent en collaboration avec tous les départements du CNA, notamment ceux de la programmation et de l'éducation, pour élaborer le contenu de trois sites Web :

www.nac-cna.ca, www.artsvivants.ca et www.buzzendirect.ca.

Hexagon est le projet de recherche et de développement du CNA qui porte sur l'utilisation de la vidéoconférence à large bande pour étendre la portée des programmes d'éducation et de rayonnement du CNA. Il explore les possibilités de télémentorat, de rayonnement éducatif et d'élargissement des auditoires grâce à des réseaux ultrarapides comme le réseau canadien CA*net 4.

Les Nouveaux médias du CNA tiennent à souligner le généreux appui du ministère du Patrimoine canadien ainsi que celui de ses partenaires du domaine de la technologie, soit le Conseil national de recherches du Canada, le Centre de recherches sur les communications et CANARIE.